We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past week and had a very good experience. I was a little apprehensive after reading a few of the reviews. However, the price was very reasonable so we decided to give it a try. Our check-in was handled very efficiently and we were soon in our room. The room was very fresh and clean and nicely appointed. I used the free wi-fi in our room and had no problems. There were plenty of convenient outlets to use to power my tablet. We used the indoor pool and it was the perfect temperature. Restaurants and the Kennedy Mall were only a short drive away from the hotel, so we had no problem finding somewhere to eat dinner. There is a complimentary breakfast and there was plenty of seating in the breakfast room. The only minor complaint that I might have with the hotel is that the mattress could have been a little more comfortable. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to someone who is visiting Dubuque.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sari80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am very happy you had a “good experience” at our hotel! Your recommendations to other travelers who are visiting Dubuque are greatly appreciated. We look forward to you returning to our hotel.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    73
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
75
65
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

this is a very poorly run hotel. we arrived after a long drive and it was a half an hour after check in time ...the room was not ready. I was crabby...by the time we got our room ...we were very upset...then we get up to our room...and the electronic key did not work. so back down the hall to elevator and wait at the desk...where the manager apologized that the room was not ready...but was very condescending thanking me for my patience...I felt bad about being crabby so said was sorry to the guy at the desk later that night.
but it got worse...as when you have a hotel with a full house on Friday and sat night...there should be more than one person behind the desk so there is not a 15 minute wait to get another towel or a bottle of shampoo. one guy there...under staffed in every area ...which is why the rooms were not ready at 3:30pm on Friday afternoon

we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions. Guest feedback, whether positive or negative, is an important tool in providing quality customer service. As you described, you experienced considerable delays during your stay and for that I am truly sorry! We try very hard to prevent problems from recurring and assure you we will try our very hardest to prevent an issue such as yours from happening again! I regret for your poor experience and hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate the quality of service we are capable of providing.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife, mother and I needed a stay for one night at this hotel and after checking in at 10:30pm the gentleman at the front desk shaved $30 off the room rate on top of upgrading us to a suite. The rooms are spacious and gorgeous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the area, they truly treat you like gold.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KieblerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for commenting that we “truly treat you like gold”! It is always appreciated knowing when the staff has delivered complete guest satisfaction.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

The interior is nice, they have an indoor pool, hot tub, and workout room open until midnight. Quirky thing, but I love lamps by the bed with plugs for my cell charger and they have it! On both sides of the bed... Sometimes it's the simple things. If I have to give one negative, it is a little further off the strip than other places, but on the same token that might make it more quiet. Definitely not far from food and entertainment though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Your time of posting a comment is greatly appreciated. I agree with you that sometimes it’s the simple things that make the difference! Thank you for your business!
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days last week, and it is just basic with no frills with all the normal problems of basic you get what you pay for hotel. I stuck to the carpet several times because of gum, and the shower would not drain, both of these proplems I reported to the front desk, but nothing was done. The morning man on the desk was rude and had a not my problem attitude. Please everyone who has a disabled placard don't forget to display it we were ticketed for $200.00 because we forgot. The disabled parking spaces are right outside the hotel door in their car own car park these parking places do not display a warning of a ticket or tow away. We needed 2 more rooms and to extend our stay, so needless to say we moved to another hotel near by.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear susan w,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Customers Rule - We had a family reunion and staff went overboard to ensure we had everything we needed, even though the hotel was at capacity. They found an accessible room room at the last minute that helped our senior statesman enjoy his family!

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk staff or call the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff here at the Dubuque Holiday Inn Express and Suites, I want to be the first to say it is our pleasure! May we welcome you again soon!
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Good:
• Spacious room and large bathroom
• Adjustable shower nozzle and in-shower corner shelves to place items
• Large breakfast area with plenty of tables
• Breakfast included eggs, sausage patties, biscuits and gravy, cereal, yogurt, muffins, bagels, toast plus a large selection of syrup, butter, jellies, peanut butters, cream cheese
• One-button pancake machine that dropped a single pancake out conveyor after about a minute
• Lots of conveniently located power plugs with several on the desk lamps
• Good AC unit with good balance between cooling and noise
• Mini fridge and microwave

Average:
• Rigid-type privacy chains on the room door which encourages neighbors to use them as a noisy door stops
• 27" TV with mostly standard definition channels
• Single cup coffee/tea maker

Sub-Par:
• The bouncy mattresses on the beds had pronounced body ruts
• Slower internet access than most that requires frequent unlocking with passcode and poor wireless coverage unless you near the lobby, unable to get signal at all with tablet devices.
• The microwave and fridge were in the closet nook, which interfered with hanging up long items
• Shower/tub did not have a no-slip liner

Summary:
A newer and well maintained hotel on the northwest side of town and located near several new looking shopping centers. The hotel can get very noisy on weekends and we were annoyed by quality of the internet access.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICanHasCheeseburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear ICanHasCheeseburger,

Thank you for your review of our property, highlighting the good and opportunities to improve. It is great that you found our rooms to be spacious and the breakfast served was at par with your standards. However, I sincerely regret the inconvenience brought by the slow Internet connection and amenities condition being sub par. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Address: 2080 Holliday Dr, Dubuque, IA 52002-0471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West. Dubuque s newest hotel located in the West End district. Our hotel is just minutes away from Dubuque s downtown featuring major attractions such as The National Mississippi River Museum, The Diamond Jo Casino, Grand River Center, Five Flags Civic Center, Star Brewery, and Dubuque Greyhound Park and Casino (Mystique). If you are traveling to Dubuque to enjoy one of our many fun filled events such as America s River Festival, Catfish Festival, Riverfest, Summerfest, and Dragonboat Festival, you ll find the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West s convenient location perfect for shopping and dining. While visiting Dubuque, you may want to take a short drive to Galena IL for additional shopping and sight seeing General Grant s Home and other historical sights. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West is designed for business travelers featuring High Speed Internet, 24 hour business center, large work desks in every room, and meeting room for groups up to 50 people. We welcome guest visiting McKesson, A.Y. McDonald, McGraw Hill, and Quebecor, Eagle Window and Doors, and Kendall Publishing and John Deere. In addition, our proximity to Loras College, University of Dubuque, and Clark College makes us the ideal location during your campus visit.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dubuque-West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing