We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and exceptional service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was very appreciative of Anthony I believe his name is and Jeremy at the front desk. They were more than accommodating. Every time I check in, there is never a question on my reservation, the check in is expedited, room is always clean, happy there is a fridge, were understanding on my late checkout and would answer to me anytime I needed anything. I am from Minneapolis and was very impressed with their 5 star service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbusiness2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments that Anthony and Jeremy provided you with “5 star service”. It is always nice to hear positive feedback regarding your services and know they both appreciate you sharing your impressions.
Sincerely,
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    72
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
75
65
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I am looking forward to an upcoming trip to Dubuque Iowa. I checked out this hotel the last time I was in town. It was clean, the staff was friendly. It is in a great westside location near shopping amenities, Sundown Ski resort and lots of good restaurants. I am looking forward to my stay at this updated clean, and well priced hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmolever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We look forward to your upcoming stay as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

If one must be in this area of Dubuque on business, this hotel is suited to business needs: safe, easy to access with no parking fee, clean, comfortable, priced appropriately for its value. This is a workerly property for road warriors, an affordable and satisfactory destination for families, and satisfying without being memorable. The one downside for those with mobility issues is that the tubs are too high a step up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments! I would also like to address your comments regarding those with mobility issues, please be aware we do offer accessible rooms as well. I want you to know sharing your feedback is valued because it does allow us to address concerns and inform others who may have the same concerns too. Thank you again for sharing your review of our hotel.
Sincerely,
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have stayed several times and learned to ask for a top floor room and away from the elevator if you want a quiet room. Each time when I have checked it with a reservation the ONE front desk individual is either busy or not even at the front desk!? During a certain time each day it might actually take two people and really be great if the afternoon front desk individual was friendly and would SMILE, you certainly don't feel they want your business. The location of this hotel keeps me coming back, not the Team!

Room wise the hotel is clean, breakfast is good!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor and away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! Great guest satisfaction is the purpose of our business and knowing your impression is important so we can ensure that happens. I truly apologize if our team failed to represent that and promise we will work very hard to regain your faith in these capabilities. We regret not living up to your expectations and will use your response to focus on improving this for the next time you are here. Thank you for all your comments as they are of great importance to our success.
Sincerely,
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Very nice hotel. Clean rooms and common areas. Bed was very comfortable. Pool and spa were nice. Staff was very friendly.
Only one negative thing to say...Complimentary breakfast was, well, a little less than desirable. Half the items were empty. The other half was cold. Coffee, milk, and orange juice were good though.
Overall rating, 4 stars. Would defiantly stay again!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the entrance or pool area. These areas are kind of loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your compliments! We have also taken note on the areas of opportunity in our breakfast that you have listed and are working very hard on improving them. Thank you again for your feedback!
Sincerely,
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Overall this was a nice place to stay. I enjoyed the breakfast the most. However, this morning there was a weird guy hanging out at the breakfast. He was wearing a blue hooded sweatshirt & he kept coming over to us asking us personal questions trying to get more info. labour us which we didn't give him too much info. but it got to the point where we started feeling uncomfortable. We should have reported this to staff. But, hotel wise, the stay was nice but ruined in a sense by that guy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anm263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I am glad your overall stay was nice. I apologize, however, for the encounter you experienced with one of our other guests and encourage you to report any incidents like this immediately in the future. We take our guests security very seriously and want you to know this policy is enforced. We hope this does not deter you from returning to our establishment the next time your travels bring you back to Dubuque.
Sincerely,
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Hosted 50 clients in the Holiday Inn Express meeting room and had a great experience. The staff is extremely friendly and Nicole made sure they were air-tight on details. And I mean AIR-TIGHT. I get aggravated when details are ignored, and they hit on all 8 cylinders with the details. (I'm a grumpy guy who didn't have to be grumpy!)The hotel is clean, the front desk is very friendly and professional and the room was well-lit and comfortable. Parking surrounds the front door. The hotel is located right by department stores and supermarkets. Couldn't ask for much more. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBQfamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for appreciating the attention paid to the details of your meeting! We are proud to hear you “highly recommend” the Dubuque Holiday Inn Express and Suites.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Address: 2080 Holiday Drive, Dubuque, IA 52002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West. Dubuque s newest hotel located in the West End district. Our hotel is just minutes away from Dubuque s downtown featuring major attractions such as The National Mississippi River Museum, The Diamond Jo Casino, Grand River Center, Five Flags Civic Center, Star Brewery, and Dubuque Greyhound Park and Casino (Mystique). If you are traveling to Dubuque to enjoy one of our many fun filled events such as America s River Festival, Catfish Festival, Riverfest, Summerfest, and Dragonboat Festival, you ll find the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West s convenient location perfect for shopping and dining. While visiting Dubuque, you may want to take a short drive to Galena IL for additional shopping and sight seeing General Grant s Home and other historical sights. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West is designed for business travelers featuring High Speed Internet, 24 hour business center, large work desks in every room, and meeting room for groups up to 50 people. We welcome guest visiting McKesson, A.Y. McDonald, McGraw Hill, and Quebecor, Eagle Window and Doors, and Kendall Publishing and John Deere. In addition, our proximity to Loras College, University of Dubuque, and Clark College makes us the ideal location during your campus visit.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dubuque-West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing