We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Paradise”

Caroline's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I eat at Caroline's several times each month. I especially enjoy the Paradise Salad with salmon on top. It is a wonderful salad and you also can order it with chicken or tuna. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Ken B,

Great to read of your dining experience at Caroline's Restaurant inside Hotel Julien Dubuque. Thanks for recognizing the ever popular Paradise Salad.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 590 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were able to overhear too much of the conversations of the diners surrounding our booth and even the table across from us.
Did have excellent service from Anna, she was wonderful. The bread and rosemary infused olive oil were great, too bad the taste stopped there. Ribeye was average and tilapia was odiferous

Thank Beck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Beck W,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your dining experience at Caroline's Restaurant. Anna will be very appreciative of your recognizing of her service.

Our apology for the less than enjoyable food quality. Both dishes mentioned are selections that are popular. We would love to make this right for you. Please contact Stephanie or Dwight at the hotel to discuss directly.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This restaurant is in the ground level of Hotel Julien. We had breakfast delivered to our room. We ordered French toast made with thick slices of banana bread complete with carmelized bananas and hot maple syrup. To die for! We have also had appetizers and lunch. We enjoy this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrandMrs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. 5,

Thank you for sharing of your room service experience at Hotel Julien Dubuque while enjoying selections from Caroline's Restaurant.

The Banana Bread French Toast is one of the most popular menu offerings.

We hope to see you again soon!

Team Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were seated at a table 6 inches from another couple when there were lots of seats available...but Sherry cheerfully moved us to a lovely booth. My husband had the lobster Mac and Cheese. He declared it truly yummy! I had bouillabaise. It too was wonderful. Husband wished for a little something more in the salad... namely radishes. We will come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear alcat3,

Great to read of your dining experience at Caroline's Restaurant inside Hotel Julien Dubuque. Sherry will be very appreciative of your recognizing of her service while enjoying the ever popular Seafood Mac and Cheese.

We hope to see you again soon! Come any day of the week!

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I had the Mainstreet Platter and it was a taste of heaven. I don't remember the last time that I had a breakfast entree that tasted so good!

1  Thank NicoleGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear NicoleGM,

Thank you very kindly for your review of breakfast at Caroline's Restaurant. Glad to read of your enjoyment of the MainStreet Breakfast!

Hurrry back for lunch or dinner!

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caroline's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing