We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large group ate there”
Review of Champps Americana

Champps Americana
Ranked #22 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The slightly irreverent attitude has become our calling card over the years, doing things the way we always have regardless of convention. We're still making fresh hand-crafted burgers, roasting our own turkey and chicken, slow-basting our falling-off-the-bone-tender ribs, and hiring the friendliest people to be part of our team. Why bother? Because bigger and better isn't just an attitude. It's a commitment to everyone who comes through our door.The party is still going strong today. The burgers are still huge, the beer is still cold and with 30 draught beers and 30 flat-screens, we're the best place to watch the game!
Powell OH
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“large group ate there”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had 16 in our group so finding eating facilities that could accommodate us was difficult at times. During our stay in Dubuque we used this group for breakfasts, lunches and dinners. They also prepared/served our banquet meal. Food was tasty, and reasonably priced. The restaurant could have had better acoustics as it seemed to get loud quickly but I guess we were not there for the ambiance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 389TomT389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    61
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy-tastic”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Service was awesome. Cocktails made you want to dance in your seat and the curried mahi-mahi was fabulous!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank klmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“One exceptional restaurant.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Spotted on way to Hotel and decided to visit for supper. Firstly great atmosphere on walking in. Great greeting and great waitress Amanda. Amanda offered and explained various items on the menu. Food was excellent, must try Nachos, burgers best we have tasted and the Mile High Ice cream cake....... And no we never finished it but gave it a good go. Amanda deserves 5 stars for her awareness. On completing our meal John the Manager came over and had a chat with us. What a wonderful man and am sure through his hardwork and training of his staff is the reason that this is a first class restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mavis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Birthday song for 85 year old”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

For birthday goers, Champps does it up right, especially for an 85 - year-old father, grandfather and great grandfather who is not into fancy food or places. The menu offers wide range of options for three generations tonight. From great burgers to salads to club to fajita's every had fantastic me as l, and server Connie was best in all aspects from the minute we stragglers in. Champps can be a go to dinner spit or bar hopper or watching sports (USA won World Cup match against Ghana this night). 6 thumbs up f tom our family group.

Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wood River, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Champps is no gourmet restaurant, but they serve good food and alcoholic beverages. I had the baby back ribs which were average, while my sister thought the Chicken Ranch Wrap was very good. The Cookie Express dessert was delicious. The waiters were very good and attentive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilC36904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champps Americana also viewed

 

Been to Champps Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing