We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to take out-of-town guests or treat locals to a special night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champagne

Champagne
Ranked #37 of 206 Restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to take out-of-town guests or treat locals to a special night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Shared an amazing meal with champagne, great wines, seafood, steak...anything you could imagine at a long table in front of the fireplace. The food was wonderful, and the service was amazing. Bar and wait staff treated us so well, we felt like we were the only guests in the restaurant. The chef even made us cherries jubilee table-side, and the presentation was almost as great as the test. Thank you, Champagne, for making the locals and our visiting Texans feel so welcome!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best way to treat your out-of-town guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

With friends from Texas in town for one night only, this was an obvious choice! Starting with a glass of champagne, we sat near the fire and enjoyed unique appetizers. A Jordan cab was the perfect bottle to accompany our beautifully-plated entrées. The cherries jubilee was a stunning and delicious way to end our meal. I highly recommend Champagne for a special dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyVanilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
414 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The steak is fabulous! Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I met up with my sister-in-law to research some family history nearby and found this absolute GEM!!!! We got a lovely glass of champagne (choice of dry or sweet) and a good label…it was a good French champagne. We were seated at a lovely table near the fireplace area. The table was beautifully appointed with real tablecloth, lovely flatware and lovely fluted glasses. A wonderful menu with lots of choices to choose from. Very hard to make a decision but they have dry aged 45 day steaks and are noted for them so we all decided that this had to be our choice. My husband and I split the larger filet mignon and my sister-in-law had the smaller one. They were so tender you could cut them with your fork and cooked absolutely perfectly medium rare just as we ordered. Succulent and quality meat properly cooked can't be beat and this was the best of the best. The mixed green salad was lovely in a parmesan bowl that was just the right amount of crunchiness to compliment the greens in a light and perfect vinaigrette. Snow peas with caramelized onions and red pepper was the vegetable side this evening and just the right amount of crunch was left to make it a nice compliment to the steaks. My chose the red potatoes and my sister-in-law had the wonderful garlic mashed. Both were just right and seasoned just right. The Chef is to be complimented on a perfectly prepared meal. The atmosphere is so lovely…like an upscale restaurant that would be perfect for the business dinner to a romantic dinner for two for a very special occasion. The staff were attentive but not overly so and were delightful. We weren't rushed and had time to enjoy some great conversation after our meal. Just a perfect evening all around. While this wasn't a "cheap" meal we feel it was perfectly priced for all the qualities and quantities this restaurant had to offer. Well worth the money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChamMgr, Food and Beverage Director at Champagne, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent meal.
We strive to provide the best dining experience possible and we really appreciate it when we hear back from our satisfied guests.
If there is ever anything that we can do, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Johh L. Torres
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Opportunity in Iowa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My family and friends enjoy every moment at Champagne from the time we enter the door, greeted with a glass of champagne to the moment they say goodby to us as we leave full, happy and relaxed. As you walk to your comfortable table, the professional pianist plays on the grand piano. The lighting and mood has been created for a relaxed, romantic and private experience. I usually eat a beef filet and/or seafood. The wait staff are so friendly and caring. We are fortunate to have a great restaurant in Dubuque, Iowa! We have so few places to get dressed up (or not) for a night out. This is one of the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubuque0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
221 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent prix fixe for January 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Champagne has an excellent prix fixe menue for January 2013. With a beef and fish option we chose the fish and were rewarded with excellent food at an unbelievable value. We are planning on returning in February to see what the new offerings will be.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing