We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy Little Place with Tasty, Well-Priced Food”

Sunshine Family Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 208 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: been here for years, serve breakfast lunch and supper
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Busy Little Place with Tasty, Well-Priced Food”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were looking for a little local place for breakfast and our hotel recommended this place. When we walked in on a Sunday morning the place was very crowded, but were seated right away. The Breakfast menu was typical of an American breakfast menu. Prices were very reasonable, food was tasty. It appeared that both locals and out-of-towners were eating there. The atmosphere was clean and typical of a little family restaurant. Service was quick, not super friendly, not rude, just more "matter of fact." We recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kabecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    80
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bargain!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This small, clean, busy restaurant was so convenient to our hotel (Holiday Inn Dubuque) that we walked over for a late breakfast. We both had one of the specials (two eggs, two toast, potatoes and sausage) and we left, owing a little over $6.00! We left a generous tip for the very nice server.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rward2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We almost always eat here for breakfast. Good food, large portions and good service. They also serve lunch and dinner, but have not eaten there for either.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
510 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went there with 3 other couples for breakfast. The menu was very good. The food and the service was excellent. Casual local place, great for families and couples too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stopped in here while on vacation. We were greeted and sat right away. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was very good and reasonably priced (4 adults and 2 kids ate for under $50). Their cream of potato soup is wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunshine Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sunshine Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing