We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Info”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dubuque Welcome Center
Ranked #16 of 67 things to do in Dubuque
Attraction details
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Info”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A wide selection of area information is available here. The staff was helpful. We only wished that the brochures where organized a bit more clearly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2IllinoisChefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
324 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“A Great First Stop”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were in Dubuque for two days. Upon our arrival, our first stop was the Visitor Center in order to have some questions answered and to pick up some maps. I think we would have been hopelessly lost on a number of occasions without the maps. There are lots of one-way streets in the city and the roads in the country follow the hilly terrain.

The office is conveniently located on Main St. The woman who assisted us was very informative and helpful. We left with everything we needed for a great two days, including recommendations for local restaurants. Even though we didn't purchase any souvenirs, I was impressed with their selection.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very helpful ladies”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stopped in here for a map and left with loads of information and booklets. The ladies were helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. They inquired where we were from and then told us of their visits to Ireland to visit their grandparents towns. This is a must visit stop as they have all the info you need.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan2004Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Helpful place to stop”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were trying to find the Dubuque Carriage Rides and stopped in there. Lots of brochures, souvenirs and helpful staff. The lady there was for knowledgeable and made several suggestions of things we could do and see while visiting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very nice place to walk, or take in the view”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a very nice center, with a lot going for it. The view is wonderful, right on the river, it has a lot of paths for walking. Kids would enjoy it. I know our grandkids do. We even were there once for a convention, the people are friendly, helpful, and it is very clean. There are bathrooms, and places to buy food. I would recomment checking it out. Sincerely, Carolyn H

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dubuque Welcome Center also viewed

 

Been to Dubuque Welcome Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing