We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Supper Club Experience”

Moracco Supper Club
Ranked #35 of 210 Restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Supper Club Experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I are touring Wisconsin and nearby locales sampling supper clubs featured in The Supper Club Book published in 2013. We were supper club lovers long before the book was published and I have to say our experience at the Moracco stands up there with our favorite all time experiences. Locals at the bar were eager to engage and share their stories, talk about the history of the place and owners, and tell us all about their favorite foods and drinks. Tim at the bar, one of the co-owners, poured great drinks and treated us first-rate. Hillary, Tim's sister, was a fantastic server. My tenderloin and lobster were very tasty, and my wife enjoyed the "World's Best Chicken"! The bar still serves ice cream drinks and we really enjoyed our post-dinner Brandy Alexander. Although the service and food quality was excellent, what really creates memories at a restaurant are the connections with owners, staff, and patrons. We could not have done better than the Moracco. Just take a moment to seek out Tim, Hillary, Jeanne, or Garry. They'll repay your interest with great conversation, food, drink, and service. We will be recommending them to all our friends and family. Good supper clubbing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Retro Dubuque”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Moracco takes you back into time not forgotten, but relaxed and enjoyed. From the "welcome" as you walk in the door, to the offer of a seat at the rail or a table, the service extends from start to finish. While not an elite selection on the menu, it is large enough to offer something good for everyone. The "piece de resistance" is the crackers with cheese, braunswauger, and minced ham spreads to enjoy with your salad. Tonight, we have chicken dinner special (always extra to take home to the father in law) and the walleyed pike....that must have been a record catch since it was the most I've had served before. All of that on top of knowing at least 10 people is the real charm of the Heiar's Moracco and Dubuque.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Union, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oustanding service and food”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We called around to seat a party of 10 on a Saturday night and found the Moracco. Our fears that an open table for 10 meant it was less than great were immediately disproved as we were seated in a bustling dining room and provided the best service I've ever had in a large party like that. The place was packed and we were provided with two servers and never had a moment of need. The food is OUTSTANDING. Good old style steakhouse rib eye for me and fried walleye for my wife. Done perfectly as ordered. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duane98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always a positive experience”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This place offers fun and I think it's because of their waitstaff! Often we get a young person who is willing to visit with us and share a story or two. The food is always a winner and if you have to wait a bit, the bartender will be glad to entertain you at the bar. Great place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tough steak”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Tough tenderloin and sirloin.... 2x..... Used to be very good.... Was disappointed. Wondering if they are serving less quality meat?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moracco Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Moracco Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing