We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Best Mexican Food in the Dubuque area"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adobos Mexican Grill

Adobos Mexican Grill
Ranked #29 of 206 Restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Best Mexican Food in the Dubuque area"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is the best Mexican food in town because it authentic. There is the" flavor" that you wont' find at the other Mexican restaurants in Dubuque. The owner/chief will even go out of his way if you ask for something a little extra. Through out my travels, this is the only place in Dubuque that I would recommend eating Mexican food if you want the real deal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stopped in here while visiting Main St. for the Jazz Fest. We had Margaritas, which were OK, but not the best I've had. Large menu with lots of combo options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Simply the best Mexican food around, great value with real flavor not the blandness of most dubuque restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Has it strong points, and not so strong...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

On the down side, they're a bit short staffed for the dinner rush. It took me 35 minutes to get my lunch. The place looks nice, seats about 50 folks, parking is so-so as you may have to park a block away during a busy time. No problem parking close during off times. In my opinion, the food was quite authentic and tasted even better than I'd expected before I walked in. On the up side, it was really good food. I'm already planning to go back, just not during the rush at lunch time. I really think that if you're in a Mexican food mood, you'll really enjoy this place. Cost was a nice value for the dollar. 20 bucks fed two of us. Large menu. I'd have given it 5 circles if I hadn't been kept waiting quite so long.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
“Best Mexican Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The food here is absolutely amazing! The prices are great especially compared to how good the food is! The service was very nice! Needless to say my boyfriend and I will not be dining at any other Mexican restaurants in Dubuque from now on! In conclusion I highly recommend stopping at Adobos next time you find yourself craving some good Mexican in Dubuque!

~Shelly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adobos Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Adobos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing