We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this while in Dubuque!”

National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium features the culture, creatures and history of our the Mississippi and all our nation's rivers through dynamic exhibits and twelve large aquariums housed in two main centers. The impressive 14-acre riverfront campus includes a connecting plaza, a 3D/4D theater, boatyard, on-site dining options, and more! DIVE IN for a visit to the Museum & Aquarium, where fun & learning flow together!
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this while in Dubuque!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

For a free museum, you couldn't ask for more! I was impressed by the size of the museum and by the variety of exhibits. We didn't have much time to spend here (16 month old toddler close to naptime), but we enjoyed our short visit. We saw a shark and a couple sting rays, among other fish, we learned about the local history of the river and surrounding areas, and had fun with a couple of the interactive displays. There appeared to be a place to purchase food, and there was a nice gift shop with unique toys and lots of river themed clothes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harmonic52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    295
    86
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great learning experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The 4D movies were excellent! All the exhibits were jamb packed with information. The animals were incredible. I would suggest to be there at least four hours and that still won't cover everything. This is a must see!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
381 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

They boys loved seeing all the animals and children's area. They also liked that they could have a hands-on area to play. Lots of great information and displays for all age groups!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Burns57777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Went with daughter and two young grandchildren”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had been to this museum once several years ago and was surprised that it had expanded quite a bit. I'm a history teacher and would have taken a lot more time if I hadn't been with a 2 and 5 year old. They found plenty to like and one of the staff members took some time to speak with our 5 year old about the boat-making shop (she used several comparisons to Frozen which made perfect sense to our girl). I think there is enough to do and see for any age group. I do agree with previous reviewers that you need to lower your expectations if you are expecting a large aquarium. Also, some of the interactive exhibits were not working while we were there. But we had a fine experience the morning we were there!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Lovely, but not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice museum; the aquariums are smallish and scattered throughout the facility. Displays are well-done and the snack shop is clean with decent food. It's a great place for kids, but at $30 for two adults, I expected more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PlainJane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing