We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel by the Riverwalk!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
698 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
“Great hotel by the Riverwalk!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

PROS: close to the Mississippi Museum and Aquarium, downtown Dubuque, Old Shot Tower, the Brewery, Casino, Grand River Center, Mississippi Riverwalk. Beautiful hotel with Tony Romas in the hotel; waterpark inside. You should get a top floor room facing the river. We had the 7th floor riverview and it was well worth it. Ample and safe parking.

CONS: very thin walls; can hear fellow patrons and the train, car alarms, boats horns outside.

TIPS: registration area is in the 2nd floor; there is a bridge connecting the hotel with the Grand View Center.

Room Tip: highest room facing the Mississippi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_bro_1_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    440
    341
    189
    94
See reviews for
971
253
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We took our 3 children, spouses and 6 grandchildren ages from 3 mo to 10 years. Grand Harbor was great. The hotel was very nice. The waterpark has many different things to do. We could let the grandkids go on their own when they weren't excitedly taking an adult on a slide or something else. They loved it. the lifeguards did good. All the adults enjoyed it too. It was so convenient to feed the kids in the park. We also took advantage of the kids' activities that were going on while the younger ones took naps. There was some peeling paint but nothing that effected the safety and fun. It sounds like they do maintence during the winter which make sense. I would highly encourage anyone to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davenport iowa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our last stay here 3 years ago showcased a very rundown Captains Fireplace Suite. Having heard that it had been renovated, we decided to try it out again, staying on 10/25/13.

Check-in was less than average. The bell captain (first face you see before heading upstairs to check in) looks as if he hates his job. He did not welcome or acknowledge anybody coming in. (At ANY point of the stay, I may add) There was no offer of assistance with bags, not even a simple "hello". I think a different position might be better suited for that gentleman. The young blonde gal helping me at check in was very friendly and helpful, however the gal who looked to be some sort of supervisor was wearing a pink fleece jacket which I found to be a bit too informal for the position.
The newly renovated junior suite was very nice, if not incredibly noisy from both the rooms upstairs and beside us. Housekeeping was welcoming and friendly!

The waterpark itself looks awful and a bit scary. Rusty, broken, torn flags, large areas of peeling paint on the ceiling above the play gym area. With the exception of a couple lifeguards (the guard with the mustache and bandanna paid excellent attention to the swimmers!), most lifeguards DIDNT EVEN LOOK AT THE WATER. We sat at a table by the lazy river and watched a particular guard at around 9am 10/27/13 look straight ahead as he paced restlessly back and forth at the bottom of the waterslide. Literally did not look down once. This is a serious problem!

We have decided to NOT visit this hotel and waterpark again, mainly due to the deterioration of the waterpark.

Room Tip: We were next to the stairwell to the waterpark which we found to be very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letitsnow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and would stay again. Our room had a view of the Mississippi River. It is on the Riverwalk walking path also. Across the street from the Diamond Jo Casino. Right at the Port of Dubuque we just could walk to a number of activities.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I went to this water-park yesterday. (10-20-2013) There were many issues I had, but the biggest is the obvious lack of maintenance that is going into the park. Just based on the most cursory inspection as a patron, I noticed that most of the "interactive" toys on the boilerworks portion are broken, and some of the heavy strapping used to hold patrons from a considerable height are broken and have been "patched" with thin cord. They can't even be bothered to change the light bulbs or empty out the garbage cans. This facility is being chronically neglected, and is a serious accident just waiting to happen in it's current state of repair. If what I'm seeing on the surface is any indication, there is undoubtedly deeper structural disrepair that is being ignored as well. Enter at your own peril.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your vistit to our property. First and foremost we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are inspected locally and by the state every year and have to pass our local health department inspections as well. Our water park is open every day, through August. Our winter hours have just begun which allows us a few days a week for thorough maintenance. Our schedule so far as been structurally oriented to include rust removal and painting. At this point we have painted 30% of our structures. Our netting is inspected, rotated and replaced as needed but the inspection for safety is daily. The next maintenance step we have is to begin to replace the water features that do not work as we know there are several. These types of repairs can only be done when we have days where we are not open. Those repairs will begin in the next week or so as well. Thank you again for your comments and we appreciate any feedback to assist us in meeting your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed there Oct 12 and 13th. The place is beautiful and huge. Our room was on the 6th floor with a gorgeous view of the mighty Mississippi. The front desk staff was great and got us right in. On the way to our room we meant Gina from Housekeeping who welcomed us and let us know if we needed anything to just let her know..A very sweet lady she was. The beds were not big, but very comfortable. The waterpark was absolutely amazing and our grandson wants to live there now.(ha-ha) It was so much fun and again the staff was wonderful. Same way in the arcade, great staff, but watch it. Those games can be addictive and take a lot of your money(ha-ha). This is one of the best places we ever visited. They even let our grandson borrow a charger for his phone.(His was not working). Thank you Grand Hotel for showing us such a good time.
You guys really are Grand.

Room Tip: I would say there is no bad rooms at this hotel. Any room you could get would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed there on sept. 14, 2013 -- This is a very nice hotel -- Very friendly front desk personal -- Only thing I did not like is that the front desk in on the second floor-- Had to ask where it was --
The rooms where very clean, beds were awesome and no noise at all. I would give this place an
A+ -- Also have a casino very close in walking distant -- even made a little money lol -
This place is a little hard to find in the dark -- just saying ...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobkel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Property: Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing