We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a nice hotel, but it is expensive and showing signs of age. The beds are doubles and not queens and not very comfortable. There is quite a bit to do in the area, but the hotel is just average. I have stayed at much nicer resorts for less money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Traveler from Ames, Iowa,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I would like to discuss them further with you would like to contact me directly at (563) 690-3233. Our pricing structure is based on hotel occupancy and our weekends are typically sold out, demanding a higher rate. In regards to our rooms we do have other room type options that would have a queen or king bed. Thank you again for your comments and we truly appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,472 - 1,478 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Grandmother and 4 year old birthday girl overnight to see city and enjoy waterpark. We found the staff at hotel very friendly and helpful. The waterpark was fun and clean and staffed with great people

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding you stay with us. I will be sure to pass them along to our team members. Please come back again and all of us here at the Grand Harbor hope you continue to celebrate your birthdays with us. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend, very clean and the staff was wonderful. Tony Romas had great ambiance and appetizers. The casino across the street is very fun (over 90 percent payout). Excellent place for a walk and a good meal by the river as well. The waterpark was very nice in comparison to the Dells. Quaint and fun for small kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samiamwbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Grand Harbor Traveler,

Thank you for your comments regarding our location and staff. I will be pleased to pass those kind words along to our team members. I do agree with you that our water park is very suited for younger children. Thank you again and we do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have stayed here several times for work trips. The rooms are nice, modern and come with a small fridge and microwave. It has never been overly crowded. I highly suggest the Woodfire Grill over at the casino. The hotel is very conveniently located.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKA1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Traveler from Colorado,

Thank you for your repeat visits to our property and we also thank you for your kind comments and I will be sure to pass them along to our team members. I will also share your comments regarding the Woodfire Grill to our Port of Dubuque neighbors as well. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a small family reunion to celebrate 2 birthdays and reserved 3 rooms for all of us. The package deal included the rooms, waterpark tickets and also Mississippi River Museum tickets for a wonderful weekend get-together. The waterpark is showing some signs of age, but has a good variety of depths and activities for the whole batch of us (ages ranging from 1 yr. to 59 yrs.) Rooms and the hotel in general were clean and nicely appointed. Our ADA room with a queen bed and sofa sleeper were nice, with a good view of the river and bridge. Dubuque is a fun little river town with some very nice little shops.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms with 2 double beds and 1 room with a queen and sofa sleeper. All were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Traveler from Montana,

First and foremost we do appreciate your feedback and we hope that you had safe travels back to Montana. Thank you for your kind comments and we will be sure to forward on to our team as they are the ones that truly make it happen. We are back to our winter hours and we will be addressing more painting and rust removal in the water park during our slower times, however thank you again for bringing it to our attention. Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our room was recently updated and clean. We had a corner room facing the River- awesome views. There seemed to be furniture missing- a lone floor lamp sat in the corner - no chairs or table near it! The desk did have a comfortable chair but no electric outlet available for plugging in a laptop. The internet was free but so slow. We visited on a weekday so the waterpark was not open - most of the guests seemed to be business people - wonder how they liked the slow WiFi!

Room Tip: Try for the end room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannymaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest from Franklin, WI,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I do apologize for our slow internet and if you would like to contact me directly at (563) 690-3233, I would be happy to discuss it with you one on one. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Took a quick overnight trip to Dubuque for a little gambling and a lot of food. :D Two adults = no need for waterpark. For $89.99 + tx and fees, we had comfy room with one queen bed, a pull out couch, raised toilet and lower side/slightly more accessible shower. If you need a roll-in shower, you'll have to get a Junior King room for about $20 more. For gambling, each person (2-person occupancy) get's $10 in Diamond Dollars to use at Diamond Jo AND you each get breakfast in the morning at Tony Roma's. It's a limited menu but MAN do you get a lot of food! I had the two ingredient make your own omelet. That included toast and fruit or breakfast potatoes as well as juice.
Sleeper sofa had a firm mattress on it. Not bad, but like any sleeper sofa you eventually feel the metal bar. Luckily that wasn't until I woke up from a solid night's sleep!
Room was spacious and clean. Microwave and fridge in the room. We had a Riverview room. LOVE IT!
Good grab bars in the bathroom for getting up/down from toilet and the shower had great grab bars to hold on to as well.
Overall, this is a great deal for those not wanting to use the waterpark.

Room Tip: Go for River View. You cannot beat it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest from Sun Prairie,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. I will be sure to pass them along to our team members. Please come back soon. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
334 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £73 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing