We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, location and price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Altoona, IA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great room, location and price.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My fiancee had business in Dubuque, so we decided to make a weekend trip out of it. Despite an advertised check-in time of 4pm, we had no problem getting a room when dropping in unannounced at 1:30pm. In our reservation notes we asked for a river-view room on a high floor. We were given a top floor room with a BEAUTIFUL view of the river. Free Wifi and parking. Instant happiness.

Despite being a non-smoking room (I think it's a non-smoking hotel), our room unfortunately smelled like smoke. Luckily it wasn't terribly bad, and there were no attempts to cover it up with carpet fresh or similar (which I am allergic to).

Everything in the room was functional (small fridge, microwave, coffee machine) and the climate controls worked fine. The window cooling unit was a little on the noisy side (it clicked rather loudly when it turned on), so light sleepers beware.

This hotel has an indoor water park on premises, so expect a lot of kids to be running around. We didn't visit the water park.

Quirks: The check-in location is on the 2nd floor instead of the main lobby. Weird.

We were pleasantly surprised to find breakfast at the onsite Tony Roma's restaurant was only $21 for the two of us. I didn't feel ripped off at all, like I do at so many hotel restaurants. The riverwalk is 200 feet from the hotel. Bald Eagles are commonly seen, as are huge barges going up and down the Mississippi. There is a rare swing bridge visible from the hotel, which pivots on an island to allow large boats to pass through it. Very cool if you have never seen something like this in operation.

All in all, it's not a luxury hotel but our room was nice, functional and had a great view. The hotel location is right along the riverwalk. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TREX22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    440
    341
    189
    94
See reviews for
971
254
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights while in the area for a girls weekend...the rooms are adequate, with an impressive view of the Mississippi River if you're lucky! The only complaint I have is the air conditioning was set to a default low of 74 and it was not low enough for my liking. We did not use the water park, and really only slept and showered there...we did eat several meals at Tony Roma's , which we thoroughly enjoyed. My high marks come from the transportation they provide. The drivers are extremely friendly and accommodating , even so far as to accompany you inside of your destination to make further inquiries for you if there are any questions.
It's a clean and pleasant place and I would definitely return in the future!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kferg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a comfortable hotel with all you would expect in accommodations and service, with no surprises, good or bad. The location though is superb, right on the river and easy walking distance from downtown, the maritime museum, and casinos, not to mention the attached water park and Tony Roma's Restaurant. Oh yeah, there's a great brewery also just a stroll away down the river walk .
Rooms are typical, clean, wifi access, etc. The beds are a little springy. Check in and out is easy, and the staff seem ready and willing to please. Ask for a room with a river view. It's outstanding.
Otherwise - good value - you won't be disappointed staying here, but you won 't be bowled over either.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PappyVanWinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, IA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Grand Harbor for a conference. It was a good and decent hotel, the waterpark was closed during the time I was there because they normally didn't have a lot of guest with children at this time of year. It was only open during the weekends.
They offered free shuttle to the casino across the parking lot until late and they also offered shuttle to any where in Dubuque until 9pm, which I found very convenient.
I didn't eat at Tony Roma's but the food during our conference was really quite good.
The hotel has a walk way next to the river which is beautiful and would be nice if it had been a little warmer when I was there.
I would recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Grand Harbor Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the kind words and they will be forwarded on to our team members. We are very proud of of our conference facilities and the services we provide for our conference attendees. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytton
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked room for 2 adults and 3 kids. Room only had 2 double beds and had to pay extra for roll away. Beds not very comfortable. Water park was great. Lots of fun for kids but not included. Also had limited hours. Would still return. Close to many attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsarefun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind comments regarding your stay. I will be sure to forward on to the team here at Grand Harbor. We look forward to your next visit and again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Picked this hotel because of the location. Next time we will go back to quality. Room was not clean. Spider webs in the windows and the bathroom shower ledge hadn't looked like it had been touched in years. Yuck. Costs extra to go to the water park so we skipped that. Happy hour food in the restaurant was a bargain however. Stayed on a Thursday night and of course they dumped us in a parking lot view room. Absolutely not worth the cost compared to other hotels across the street which have cleaner rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room if you MUST stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jcstormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations and would like to discuss with you further. You can contact me directly at 563-690-3233. Thank you again for your feedback and we will share with all of our team your room cleanliness issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a nice hotel, but it is expensive and showing signs of age. The beds are doubles and not queens and not very comfortable. There is quite a bit to do in the area, but the hotel is just average. I have stayed at much nicer resorts for less money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Traveler from Ames, Iowa,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I would like to discuss them further with you would like to contact me directly at (563) 690-3233. Our pricing structure is based on hotel occupancy and our weekends are typically sold out, demanding a higher rate. In regards to our rooms we do have other room type options that would have a queen or king bed. Thank you again for your comments and we truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Property: Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing