We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water park was very dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The water was very dirty.I went with a friend and her kids and got sick I will never be back.This is the worst water park I have ever been too.the lifeguards are very young and weren't really paying attention leaning around i spent more time telling kids not to run then the lifeguards did none of the lifeguards had the guard tubes on and sitting in chairs like they were relaxing what would they do if someone needed their help

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dannatt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear dannatt21,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our water park and i do sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our lifeguards do meet all the age and skills that are required by the Red Cross, however I have still passed your comments on to our leadership team for review. Our park is now in our winter hours and will be going through some much need maintenance which will address our cleanliness questions. If you would still like to contact me directly we could discuss further your concerns and help us book your next visit where your expectations are exceeded. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,468 - 1,474 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Our room was modern, clean, and had a spectacular view of the Mississippi River. The waterpark is small and a little rough around the edges, but perfect for an overnight stay with small children. Safe and reasonably clean, with plenty of lifeguards. Given that you're paying half or even a third of a big resort, I think this is a real value.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jeremiah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Holidayroad,

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we agree that our park is perfect for younger children and we can offer great packages to accommodate families with younger children. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took a few days with our son, daughter-in-law and 5 grandchildren, ages 7-11 to the Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark. The hotel had some updating done recently. The rooms were larger than usual, as well as quiet and the beds were comfortable. Our grandchildren really enjoyed the waterpark--they were kept active for several hours each time we visited it. There are lots of activities and it is all indoors.

The hotel is right on the Mississippi riverfront and has a walkway with seating along the area. My husband and I relaxed there and enjoyed the river and the beautiful flowers.

There is also a Tony Roma's restaurant onsite where we had dinner the first night we were there. It's a little expensive for a large family, but the food was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Sharon W,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with your children and were able to enjoy the water park. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel seems a bit dated. It has an indoor waterpark which the kids will love. It's located right on the water near the river tour boats and the casino. The room was nice, large and clean. Try to get a room in the back facing the river.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces the river and has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Ricmar60,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us and we pleased you enjoyed our views. The Mississippi River does offer great back drop to our property. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room rates shown are "government rates" but nowhere on the startup page does it note that, only when you get to the confirmation page in very small print is says you must present a government ID upon check-in. They politely let you know you have the option of not taking the room, or staying and paying the additional $35-$40, which I did since I carried all my luggage in and didn't know how close the next hotel was. I e-mailed the general manager my concerns and received no feedback what-so-ever.
It is a nice place sitting right on the river, so I don't understand why they need to trick anyone into staying.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view....very serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Jeff H,

Thank you for pointing out a deficiency in our website reservation system. We have fixed this problem for future guests. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 5th floor with a river view. It was beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay & would stay there again. Be aware riverside rooms have love music below at the restaurant on Tuesday & Thursday. Was sometimes loud. One of the beds was broken & we were offered another room if the bed couldn't be fixed.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank DanielleB50401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We loved their waterpark and also liked that there was a restaurant (Tony Roma's on the second floor. We went here for breakfast and really liked it!). Our room was clean, but we were unable to get adjoined rooms so we had to use a rollaway bed which was a little unfortunate.

Room Tip: If you call more in advance I'm sure it would be easier to get adjoined rooms if you need them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlyn Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,462 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £72 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing