We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight In Dubuque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overnight In Dubuque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent a few days traveling the upper Mississippi River from St Louis to St Paul. One of the nights was spent at the Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark inn Dubuque IA. I had never been to Dubuque before and found it to be a great spot. Lots of stuff going on downtown from large casino to many small bars and bistros. All centrally located within easy walking distance. The Grand Harbor is a real value. It is new, nicely appointed with a friendly helpful staff. It was a pleasure to stay here - I shall return to Dubuque and the Grand Harbor for a long weekend some time in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapatulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear guest from Rhinelander,

We look forward to your next LONG weekend visit as well and we are pleased you enjoyed your last visit. Dubuque is an amazing city and our tourism attractions are what make it the place to visit. Thank you again for your kind comments and come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    429
    332
    188
    91
See reviews for
954
245
23
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent three days in Dubuque and had a wonderful time. The Grand Harbor played a central role in this. From the front desk at check in to checking out, we had a wonderful time. My wife and I had three of our grandkids with us. They were 6, 12, and 15 years of age. They all enjoyed the waterpark multiple times. While it is has been around awhile, it is still in better shape than some others we have been at. The area provided golf for me and the boys, while my wife and grand daughter used the arcade at the hotel and went shopping. The hotel provided them transportation to the mall, and the driver was very courteous and provided them with history lesson on the city. We arrived early at the hotel, no problem. The room was ready and we got extra time in the water park. On the day we left, we took a tour of Eagle Point Park. The kids loved the view and watching barges go through the locks. They also enjoyed being kids and running through the park. The room was spacious enough for 5 and was clean. Our meals at Tony Roma's were better than the last time we were here and the waitress we had for breakfast really engaged the kids, which made them happy. All in all, a good 3 days and the Grand Harbor played an important role in this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking on the river if you like that, or for room looking at the city if you are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockerralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Rockerralph,

WOW, you really did take advantage of everything the Grand Harbor and Dubuque have to offer. From our dining and water park to the citie's attractions. We are pleased you and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Always have a decent stay here..GREAT rates as well..Beautiful view of the Mississippi River. Large Room.. Comfortable beds...Quiet... Nice check in. Located in beautiful Downtown Dubuque. Lots of neat Shopping places..Mississippi Moon Bar across the street is a GREAT place to see a concert!!...Have not used the waterpark, but it looks fun!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Teri L,

Thank you once again for yet another visit and we are pleased you enjoyed this one as well. The views of the Mississippi River never get old and they will be here on your next visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The water was very dirty.I went with a friend and her kids and got sick I will never be back.This is the worst water park I have ever been too.the lifeguards are very young and weren't really paying attention leaning around i spent more time telling kids not to run then the lifeguards did none of the lifeguards had the guard tubes on and sitting in chairs like they were relaxing what would they do if someone needed their help

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dannatt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear dannatt21,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our water park and i do sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our lifeguards do meet all the age and skills that are required by the Red Cross, however I have still passed your comments on to our leadership team for review. Our park is now in our winter hours and will be going through some much need maintenance which will address our cleanliness questions. If you would still like to contact me directly we could discuss further your concerns and help us book your next visit where your expectations are exceeded. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Our room was modern, clean, and had a spectacular view of the Mississippi River. The waterpark is small and a little rough around the edges, but perfect for an overnight stay with small children. Safe and reasonably clean, with plenty of lifeguards. Given that you're paying half or even a third of a big resort, I think this is a real value.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Holidayroad,

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we agree that our park is perfect for younger children and we can offer great packages to accommodate families with younger children. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took a few days with our son, daughter-in-law and 5 grandchildren, ages 7-11 to the Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark. The hotel had some updating done recently. The rooms were larger than usual, as well as quiet and the beds were comfortable. Our grandchildren really enjoyed the waterpark--they were kept active for several hours each time we visited it. There are lots of activities and it is all indoors.

The hotel is right on the Mississippi riverfront and has a walkway with seating along the area. My husband and I relaxed there and enjoyed the river and the beautiful flowers.

There is also a Tony Roma's restaurant onsite where we had dinner the first night we were there. It's a little expensive for a large family, but the food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Sharon W,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with your children and were able to enjoy the water park. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
510 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel seems a bit dated. It has an indoor waterpark which the kids will love. It's located right on the water near the river tour boats and the casino. The room was nice, large and clean. Try to get a room in the back facing the river.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces the river and has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Ricmar60,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us and we pleased you enjoyed our views. The Mississippi River does offer great back drop to our property. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Property: Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing