We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junior King - ADA (Roll the Dice Package)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Junior King - ADA (Roll the Dice Package)”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wonderful room. Clean, quiet comfortable - and the floor was crawling with kids and families (still quiet!) Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you don't want to use the waterpark but would rather enjoy a little gambling this is a package for you ($10 per person to be used at Diamond Jo). There's also a certificate for a free bottle of wine from the winery down the road. You just have to take the tour.

Only bummer is these rooms face the city not the river. On the plus side we could see our vehicle in the parking lot. :D

Even if you can't see the river from your room, there is a river walk that is wheelchair accessible (note not right by the hotel - you have to go down a little bit to get to one of two ramps). BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest from Sun Prairie,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and be sure to request a river view room on your next visit so you enjoy the other side of the property. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    462
    363
    202
    97
See reviews for
1,026
274
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had such a great time, the hotel is lovely, the flowers surrounding it, and the River, are amazing, what a good waterpark, our grandchildren absolutely loved it, this waterpark was the best I have ever experienced, with the rafts down the slides, and also the climbing ropes, I will definitely be back. Thanks for a great time. The only thing I would change would be the pizza in the park, it was burned and terrible, and overpriced.

Room Tip: we enjoyed seeing out the front door, some probably liked looking at the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest from Iowa City,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have also passed on your concerns regarding your meal in the water park. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here because we wanted somewhere close to downtown. Knew it had a waterpark, but was hoping we could use the pool or hot tub, but would have had to pay $20 for that privilege. Staff was not very welcoming and the sheets on our bed were so wrinkled that it looked like someone had slept in them! The best thing about the room was the view, a stunning vista of the Mississippi. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor for the view, which was spectacular, but there was a live band performing on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mary S,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Grand Harbor. I would like to sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Wrinkled sheets and unfriendly staff are not standards acceptable to this hotel and your feedback has been passed on for review as well. I do hope you choose to contact me directly so we can discuss this further. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The rooms are average, and the water park is dated, but our grand children, ages 4-9 had a blast. We probably would not revisit this place, as there are better places to see for the price we paid. There were 3 weddings in the surrounding area and the restaurant was crowded and over priced for kids. Dubuque, Ia is a city that adults will find interesting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtaylor199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear dtayor199,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. Our water park is 12 years old and we agree that there are areas of wear and tear and we will begin that maintenance program after the summer season when we got to our winter hours and are able to do the work with the park closed. We are pleased that your grandchildren enjoyed the stay and we truly hope you visit us again in the future. If you contact me directly I would be a happy to discuss how we plan to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and quiet,very comfortable beds. Great views of the river. Near event center, casino and Mississippi River Aquarium. Tony Roma's restaurant located on site which looks out over river also. We did not use waterpark

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lasershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Lasershow,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we too agree that are views are amazing! The Mississippi river is a great back drop to our property. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent a few days traveling the upper Mississippi River from St Louis to St Paul. One of the nights was spent at the Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark inn Dubuque IA. I had never been to Dubuque before and found it to be a great spot. Lots of stuff going on downtown from large casino to many small bars and bistros. All centrally located within easy walking distance. The Grand Harbor is a real value. It is new, nicely appointed with a friendly helpful staff. It was a pleasure to stay here - I shall return to Dubuque and the Grand Harbor for a long weekend some time in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapatulski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear guest from Rhinelander,

We look forward to your next LONG weekend visit as well and we are pleased you enjoyed your last visit. Dubuque is an amazing city and our tourism attractions are what make it the place to visit. Thank you again for your kind comments and come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent three days in Dubuque and had a wonderful time. The Grand Harbor played a central role in this. From the front desk at check in to checking out, we had a wonderful time. My wife and I had three of our grandkids with us. They were 6, 12, and 15 years of age. They all enjoyed the waterpark multiple times. While it is has been around awhile, it is still in better shape than some others we have been at. The area provided golf for me and the boys, while my wife and grand daughter used the arcade at the hotel and went shopping. The hotel provided them transportation to the mall, and the driver was very courteous and provided them with history lesson on the city. We arrived early at the hotel, no problem. The room was ready and we got extra time in the water park. On the day we left, we took a tour of Eagle Point Park. The kids loved the view and watching barges go through the locks. They also enjoyed being kids and running through the park. The room was spacious enough for 5 and was clean. Our meals at Tony Roma's were better than the last time we were here and the waitress we had for breakfast really engaged the kids, which made them happy. All in all, a good 3 days and the Grand Harbor played an important role in this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking on the river if you like that, or for room looking at the city if you are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockerralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgeisz, General Manager at Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Rockerralph,

WOW, you really did take advantage of everything the Grand Harbor and Dubuque have to offer. From our dining and water park to the citie's attractions. We are pleased you and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#3 of 17 in Dubuque
2,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
637 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Property: Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Address: 350 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Hotel Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel And Waterpark
Grand Harbor Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort Dubuque
Grand Harbor Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Grand Harbor
Grand Harbor Resort And Waterpark Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing