We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, tasty food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepper Sprout

Pepper Sprout
Ranked #10 of 206 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Iowa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fun place, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

2nd time for me at the Pepper Sprout and as good as the 1st time. Employees are courteous, efficient and know their customers and the menu. Weekday evening and the place was FUN. A good mixture of ages and laughs galore. Bartender was very helpful in suggesting a beer to my liking. Ate light but the Duck Napolean was outstanding. Great appetizers by the way.
Haven't gotten deep into the menu yet but it is a guarantee. After looking at the meals served and then tasting, it is obvious the kitchen staff love their work and keep serving works of art. Thanks to the Pepper Sprout

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C H E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    33
    26
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Md
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best kept Secret on Main Street .... look for it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had six diners at this lovely restaurant, two weeks ago. Although on Main Street, it was not easy to find; so remember it is close to the Julian Hotel. The waiter was perfect, in every respect! Our food was delicious and presented with artistry. Rhubarb pie was a real treat, as the grand finale. Dubuque is a beautiful and active Iowa river town that nobody should miss visiting. The architecture, four colleges/ universities, and art venues give this town of 65-80k an unexpected charm and excitement that should be explored. Top off the visit with a tremendous meal at Pepper Sprout.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vernene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamora, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Julien (AWESOME!) and ate here for dinner. It was the Summer Menu and the food was excellent. My wife had the Asian glazed salmon with seasonal vegetables, which were excellent. Unfortunately, they were out of the asparagus, which she really wanted. I had the beef tenderloin, which melted in my mouth, with spinach and cheddar mashed potatoes and the seasonal vegetables. Excellent! The meals came with salad and bread. The bread was tasty, very fresh and warm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PnB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pepper Sprout Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Second trip to the Pepper Sprout, last time was fall. The menu changes seasonally, and my Wife & I both agreed it was better in the fall, ( great use of pumpkin, etc...) The baked brie appetizer seemed different from the fall when we dined last (again- use of in seasonal products?) This trip I had the ribs special, while tasty, it was nothing spectacular. What I like about the PS is it's unique entree choices, I thought it missed the mark for me this time. I'll be back though, still a cool venue (great 70's rock playing ever so softly in the back ground) great wine selections. It's a bit spendy, but worth it if you like to try new things.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, IA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very good food. Nice menu selection. Good service. Have been here several times and have never been disappointed. One of the best places to eat in Dubuque.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysRoadRunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pepper Sprout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing