We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Mounds Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My friend and I had a wonderful stay in the White House at Four Mounds Inn. Everything about this place was perfect - from the beautifully refurbished home to the serene, wooded setting on the bluffs of the Mississippi River to the fantastic breakfast to the friendly and very helpful staff. The holiday decorations were beautiful and we especially enjoyed the adirondack chairs with their red bows all lined up facing the river. What a great find!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

What I have learned about Dubuque, Iowa and its great history

Day 1
As it was only our second time going to Dubuque, I wanted to make it special so my husband David took an extra day off so we could make a mini-vacation out of it for my birthday, which is September 11. The first day we were there we asked Marie FitzGerald, the innkeeper of Four Mounds, about places to go. She always has great recommendations. Of course we went to Potosi, Wisconsin to see the brewery and winery which are right across the way. And of course I did recommend Switchback to both places and even got some good contacts for the guys that evening. Let me tell you, if you have never stayed at Four Mounds you really should. It is breathtaking, and it is a great place just to take in the nature and relax.


Day 2
We woke up to the sounds of the birds chirping and the wind off the Mississippi River. It was so melancholy that I wished I could wake up to those sounds every day. So we went off to the gray house at Four Mounds for one of Marie’s fabulous breakfasts, and then we went to this place called Eagle Point Park. It is one of the most outstanding parks in the Midwest with 164 acres overlooking the Mississippi River and Lock and Dam #11, providing a spectacular tri-state view of Iowa, Illinois, and Wisconsin. It reminded me a lot of Starved Rock in Utica, Illinois. You could stay there and enjoy the many nature trails. After that, we just took advantage of the beauty of Four Mounds where I took pictures of the property that day. That has rather become a hobby of mine. When we are on trip I like to take different shots of whatever may catch my eye. My husband David is getting pretty good at it himself if I may so! He took many great shots at The Grand Opera House that evening. Before we went to see Switchback premier their new symphony Falling Water River with the Grand Opera performed under Paul Hemmer, we went to dinner at the L.May in downtown Dubuque. I do have to say it was excellent. The main reason for going on this trip was Switchback’s debut of Falling Water River with the Grand Pops Orchestra and Chorus of Dubuque. We went on Saturday, September 8th. My review of this show is it was a wonderful blend of the orchestral sound and woodwinds. I think that really made the difference overall. The special effects were just right too so way to go, Switchback! I cannot wait to see the next performance, and I know the fans will be waiting for the CD with the orchestral arrangement featuring Switchback. Therefore, fans, if that is something you really want, you will have to thumbs up on my Fan Club President Page on Facebook. I will put something out there about it, and if you would like a CD thumbs up. Of course we always like to hear your comments too.

Since my husband and I have only been in Dubuque twice, we wanted to do things and learn things about the town. One thing I have noticed is the pride Dubuque takes in its history. Just look at Main Street in downtown Dubuque and how they have restored most of the buildings. The other is the architectural significance of a lot of the buildings. You can tell the builders in the early 1800’s took pride in what they were doing and how they did it. There are a couple buildings I have noticed in Dubuque that have clock towers. I would love to read up on the history of clock towers because I am sure there is some meaning for having so many in Dubuque. The next thing we do will be an architectural tour when we come back to Dubuque. We always learn something when we come here.

Day 3
We still wanted to see a little more so at breakfast we were talking to The Duves, very nice people and great Switchback fans, and they were telling us about the Spanish Mines where we learned about Julien Dubuque, who was the first permanent settler in Iowa. We also learned Dubuque was a town of many firsts. Then on the way home we made two stops. We first needed to eat so we went to the Galena Brewery, and while there we got directions for the Galena Cellars, which would take us back toward home. It was worth it just to see the scenery. If we could live out this way we would. On one side of the River you have Galena and the other Dubuque. For a person who loves nature, there is so much to do. We look forward to our next trip to Dubuque and staying at the Four Mounds Inn. It is the most serene place you can stay.

Room Tip: We have not stayed in one bad room The grey house and the White house both have great rooms. If iwer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is a great spot for a family reunion. We rented the whole house and had use of the great kitchen. I would love to go back there and spend a long weekend with my husband in the cabins or other house too. It's a beautiful secluded peaceful place. The staff was so unobtrusive yet always around for questions and assistance. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband found a little bit of heaven when he chose Four Mounds to spend our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We had a fantastic view, the secluded peace of the "woods", the incredible 1908 mansion and all the period furnishings. The staff was welcoming but unobtrusive. We got to sleep in the "sleeping porch" of the Riverview Suite and to hear the birds and see the trees while lying in bed was so relaxing. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: The RiverView Suite is worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbirds52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Went to Dubuque for a wedding & left saying this was the best vacation ever. We stayed 4 nights in the White House. Fridny & Vidie rooms are large, clean, beautiful, comfortable & quiet. The home is so warm & everything was there for us & clean, clean, clean, WOW clean.
I was up by 5 each morning because I didn’t want to miss the deer & turkeys roaming around. Trails all over the place to explore & the views of the Mississippi River are inspirational. Four Mounds is not your average B&B. It is nothing like I expected & I feel lucky to have had the chance to visit. The folks that work & run this place are top notch, how much you all care shows in every detail. We bragged so much about this place that my in laws had us book them a night! They too are fans & will be back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REDHEADSPOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Large rooms in an awesome setting. One of the best places to stay in Dubuque!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Swisshawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Marvin's Gardens, the rustic cabin off the beaten path at Four Mounds, and were totally delighted with the experience. My girlfriend made the arrangements as a surprise for my birthday weekend, and she done good! The cabin is secluded and private, but with all the comforts of home, and more: A fully equipped kitchen with all cookware and serving utensils one might need, a great room with fireplace, piano, library, flat-screen TV, all manner of eclectic and unusual decorations and appointments, including snowshoes above the mantel and a wooden canoe overhead in the rafters, a comfortable bedroom with wide windows overlooking the woods and Mississippi River below, and a clean bathroom with shower and tub. The outside deck was spacious and peaceful, with woodland and river views, and quite private enough for very casual attire on a warm August evening or for morning coffee.
The landscaped grounds of the estate are beautiful and well maintained, and we took long leisurely walks through the gardens and along the river overlook trails. We imagine the property would be a wonderful destination any time of the year, and recommend it to couples for a peaceful and romantic getaway, and to families for a fun and different kind of experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MkeCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,136 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
315 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
625 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Mounds Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Mounds Inn B&B

Property: Four Mounds Inn B&B
Address: 4900 Peru Rd, Dubuque, IA 52001
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Mounds Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Mounds is a historic estate located along the bluffs overlooking the Mississippi River. 60 acres of natural and cultured grounds feature three different, historic and unique options for lodging. Rent one room for a night or take over the whole site for a week. Our 1908 craftsman style Grey House features seven bedrooms and large gathering spaces. Our 1924 classically designed White House is more intimate and refined, with four bedrooms. Our 1950s cabin in the woods overlooks the river and provides rustic seclusion with all modern amenities, accommodating up to four people. Four Mounds is a unique getaway experience and when you discover it, you will fall in love. Dubuque is a culturally and economically vibrant river town that has great attractions and features year-round. Whether its an afternoon out on our trails, a trip to the National Mississippi River Museum, or a dinner excursion to the Potosi Brewery and National Brewery Museum... you will enjoy all that Dubuque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Four Mounds Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Mounds Inn B&B Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing