We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time in Dubuque in a great hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Great time in Dubuque in a great hotel!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I love the Dubuque Hilton! You can't beat the indoor hallway over to the mystique Casino or houlihans. I have stayed at other Dubuque hotels, this is always my number one choice. Everything from the lobby, to the breakfast restaurant, to the hallways were spotless. The room was even better! Breakfast was great, the server was nice. He and the rest of the staff were very pleasant. I have stayed here before and I;ll keep staying here. My favorite dubuque hotel, hands down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank-you so much for the compliments! We do have an outstanding property, with Houlihan's, Mystique Casino, all connected and indoors! We do look forward to seeing you soon! If I can be of personal assistance please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    171
    60
    31
    20
See reviews for
112
232
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely spotless! That's a huge plus in my world!!! Up scaled items like keurigs in rooms , 24 hr glass water beverages, and coffee o plenty in lobby! Loved the decor! Down side: no continental/free breakfast...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomnCindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for complimenting our staff and property! I look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to Dubuque!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharicbrb
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a nice get away place, the casino is nice and clean and fun to play and the rooms are really clean and have coffee pots. The time we were there the slots were tight...really tight but that's gambling hoping next time we go they are different.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharicbrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks so much for the compliments regarding my hotel and staff! We look forward to seeing you again soon! If I can be of any service, please call me directly. Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
946 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Pleasant staff and very clean facility. Our room was a nice size and very clean. Breakfast was a little above your standard breakfast. Pool available and the location was close to downtown area -- just a short drive away. Two free bottles of water provided upon check-in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank-you very much for the compliments regarding my hotel and staff! I will share with the team, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and were impressed mostly with the location.
We are not big gamblers but did make use of the adjacent Mystique Casino & Dog Track.
We also ate at the attached Houlihan's Restaurant and thought it was good.
The hotel is located away from the true downtown area and sits on an island in the middle of the Mississippi River. How neat is that?
Check in was quick. The lady at the desk was friendly enough.
Our Room was #223 and was clean upon arrival. A/C worked well. I think our room was in need of a new mattress as there were body imprints in the mattress making it feel like you were stuck in a rut in the bed. This did not make for a great night sleep.
So all in all - Average hotel but great location.
There isn't very much to do in Dubuque so having easy access to the casino was surprisingly fun.
We would stay here again if we were in the area without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fencelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks so much for the compliments reggarding our hotel and Mystique Casino! We have an outstanding location, and offer walking trails along the river! We certainly look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Room and local amenities were fine. Full hotel, but noise was fairly contained. Ate early lunch at restaurant; service and qualtity of food excellent, but food came out a little slowly for an empty restaurant. Pool chlorine seemed high to me but the family was fine. Fun trip overall!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank-you very much for your compliments regarding my hotel and amenities! We look forward to seeing you soon on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn is located next to Mystik Casino. We had a corner suite which included breakfast for 2 plus 2 free bottles of water. Everyone at check in was very nice and it was one of the fastest check in ever. The suite was a huge corner suite with everything you would need or want. Microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, internet hook up. Very nice whirlpool tub and a nice size shower. Everything was quite clean. Pillows and bed comfortable. If going to the Greyhound dog track or the casino, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your compliments regarding our hotel! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Address: 1801 Greyhound Park Rd, Dubuque, IA 52001-2381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Hotel Dubuque
Hilton Dubuque
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing