We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We reserved 2 rooms and both were very clean, quiet and comfortable. Precisely the things you want in a hotel. The staff was exceptional and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. As an added bonus, we were in rooms that overlooked the dog track. Our kids got to watch the dogs run around and were entertained for most of the night. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAAMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank-you for the nice compliments! We certainly have a great bird's eye view of the dog track, kids just love to watch! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    167
    58
    31
    20
See reviews for
108
228
28
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Really enjoyed this area with casino, restaurant and hotel attached. The room was clean and well suited for the gambler and or visitor. The main thing I liked was just the convince of staying and playing under 1 roof.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuoijhgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do have amenities for everyone, from restaurants to just relaxing bt the pool, to excitment in the casino! Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

All aspects of this hotel were very good. We only have a few minor complaints like the pool could be warmer and we would like a safety bar in the bathtub. We stayed on a Friday night and the price was a little high, but we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank TL1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank-you for your compliments regarding my hotel and staff! I will share with them and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My bestie got married on the Mississippi River on a sunset cruise and the whole wedding party stayed at this HGI. It's right next to the casino if you want to party and gamble or find close entertainment and there are bike and hiking/walking trails everywhere. Only 3 miles from a beautiful park that overlooks the Mississippi and there are rooms with river views. Very clean and beautifully appointed rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank robincolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for the compliments, I will certainly share with my staff and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This time my husband and I were disappointed. We stay whenever we come to Mystique and the greyhound track. It appeared that our room was cleaned in a hurry. It wasn't immaculate as usual. The A/C fan was loud on the high setting so we turned it on low. There were no items in the Pantry store freezer and no afternoon cookies in the lobby.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imfugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review my hotel. I will address your housekeeping concerns with my staff. The Pantry freezer was under repair, we did relocate items to the main freezer until the repair was complete. Our cookies are no longer part of the GI experience. We have Welcome Bars on the table near the front door with coffee, ice water, etc... It may be a good idea to place a sign on the desk to indicating where they are. It can be a bit confusing. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wonderful Hotel and Staff. Extremely clean rooms and we loved the high ceilings which made the room appear even more spacious. A little hard to find in the beginning from the Illinois side of Route 20, but once you get there - all is well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank-you for the compliments regarding your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great last minute getaway to spend some time in Galena and at Mystique. Great location and staff. Booked online and received an e-upgrade option for a corner suite, which was extremely large with separate living and bedroom. Bathroom was nicely equipped with shower and whirlpool tub and was quite spacious. Enjoyed having the separated living area which was also quite spacious as my husband is an early riser and I like to sleep in. I would recommend this property for others visiting the Galena/Dubuque area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHaugen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks again for staying with us! We look forward to seeing you soon, I am glad to hear you enjoyed you weekend!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Address: 1801 Greyhound Park Rd, Dubuque, IA 52001-2381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Hotel Dubuque
Hilton Dubuque
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing