We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Experience”

Taiko Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a group of 8 adults and 5 children. Most of us choose hibachi. The food tasted excellent and everybody enjoyed fire. The boss was a really amazing person. He played some magic for our kid and provided free tea for us. Very nice experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Li L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NICE SPECIAL OCCASION CELEBRATION MEAL”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law love this place so we take them there on their birthdays. You can get 8 people at the teppan grill tables and watch a great flaming show, complete with knife juggling by the talented grill chefs. On your birthday, you get to bong the big drum and wear a special FUN hat. The grilled fish, shrimp and steak fillet are all fabulous, as are the accompanying grilled vegies. MEALS include rice, soup of the day, and grilled bananas (not my favorite part). I don't eat sushi, but am told it's the best sushi in Dubuque.
Friends get sushi from here as take out for dinner parties.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Don't”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A group of us had reservations on a recent Saturday night for 7:30. Reservations were made several days in advance and the restaurant called to confirm earlier in the day on Saturday. We waited for a good 10 minutes for someone to acknowledge us. No one did, so we finally hunted someone down. We were told that our table would be ready "shortly." There was nowhere to sit and wait so we crowded around the bar and ordered drinks. The limes that came with our T&Ts were moldy. We then ordered whiskey shots, thinking that it was impossible to mess up a shot of whiskey. Wrong. Takio can do it! One of the shots came complete with a chunk of something non-whiskey suspended in it. Long story short: we asked about our table several more times and were told, "Sorry, just a few minutes" and "As soon as that group is done." We finally walked out at 8:30.

Also, the men's restroom is one of the most unsettling places imaginable. The urinal is inches, seriously -- inches, from the sink. There is no divider between the urinal and sink. We're not talking about a single-stall restroom here. This place has two full toilets and one urinal. And one sink. And one soap dispenser, which also functions as a test of your fine motor skills. If you aren't careful, you may get the soap, but you may also end up with the remnants of another patron's drinks on your leg.

Finally, if you still decide to go to Taiko after reading this, at least bring a change of clothes or a large bottle of Febreeze. You will reek like Taiko all night. Apparently ventilation is on the same to-do list as a urinal divider, fresh(ish) limes and learning the definition of "reservations."

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaysinDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst dinner ever.”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had made a reservation for 7:00pm. We were not greeted at the for do we migrated to the bar. We had to hunt down the host to let him know we were there and then were ignored for the next twenty minutes. We were then told it would be twenty minutes before we could be seated. We finally got seated and were not even greeted by our waitress. The service from there on out was terrible. The soup and salad were very small and unappetizing. To top it all off, the bathrooms were gross. We left hungry, disappointed, and with burning eyes from all the smoke with no proper ventilation. This was the worst Japanese steak house I have ever been to and will never go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uniwilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh food, prepared in front of you, very entertaining and builds up your appetite seeing it prepared!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Chefs have fun, and spice it up at each table for the guests. They cook with REAL butter! Love it. fresh not frozen fish/shrimp made to order. Be sure to go to Taiko when you feel like a fresh asian dish!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taiko Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing