We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Solon Langworthy House
Ranked #7 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I have stayed here for 3 years in a row now and will certainly be back! This is just the B&B we were looking for. We didn't want an awkward B&B with an Inn Keeper and have it feel like we are invading their home. I love this place because we can come and go as we please without feeling like we need to creep around and like we're invading someone else's house. The breakfast is great. Everything is available for you to do on your own! It literally takes 3-5 min to prepare breakfast if you're having a waffle.

If you're looking for something full-service and someone there to pamper you with NO privacy-this is NOT the place for you. This is what we like to think of our "home away from home". It's comfortable, homey, and meets our needs for the time away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayala2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We arrived to find a note taped to the door of our room with instructions for our stay. The room was FREEZING and there was no thermostat available for adjustment. We called both contact numbers listed on the note, and received voice mails. We left message on voice mail for return call and continued to search for a thermostat finding one in another section of the home (not our section) which was set on 50 degrees. After waiting 20 minutes and no return call, we left. An hour and a half later, we received a message that they were in transit to turn on the heat and that there would be no refund as the charge for the room had been incurred on our credit card the day before. THIS IS TRULY A SELF-SERVE BED AND BREAKFAST. WE WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!! YOU WILL BE ON YOUR OWN IF YOU STAY HERE.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The place looks very rundown from the outside. Inside is not too bad, but needs a lot of tlc. The room was fine, and the bathtub was great. My issue was that we never ever saw the inn keeper. There was a letter taped to out door with information about house, wifi code, front door code ect. I heard someone come in the first morning and make waffle batter, and just left it on the counter with butter and syrup. There were two blueberry muffins in a warming tray and that was it. No coffee made. I guess I just assumed staying at a bed and breakfast, they make breakfast for you, like every other b and b I've stayed at.

Overall, it wasnt a bad experience, but I would not stay again, nor would I recommend it.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kleine_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Folks,

This is simply one of the worst experiences we had with a B&B! We have photos as the owner refuses to refund part of our stay as we chose to stay elsewhere. Simply save your hard-earned money and go somewhere bug free, clean that has descent service!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2006

This was the most romantic stay I've ever had! The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was healthy. It was great to be able to lay on the bed after a whilrpool bath with a glass of wine and watch a movie. We will defintely make this a part of our plans each time we visit Dubuque!

  • Liked — The whirlpool; not bothered by other guests/ innkeeper
  • Tips/Secrets — stay in the Deluxe Suite- it's worth it!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingsweethearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, IA
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2006

This place is great! It makes me want to get a girlfriend so I don't have to stay here alone.

~"Cinema" Steve

Helpful?
Thank CinemaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#3 of 17 in Dubuque
2,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Solon Langworthy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Solon Langworthy House

Property: The Solon Langworthy House
Address: 264 Alpine St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6406
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Solon Langworthy House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic: candle-lit whirlpool and antique suites create a romantic ambiance perfect for a special couple. Elegant: blend of modern and antique decor, wood floors, high ceilings, catered breakfast... accommodation with style. Exclusive: away from the hustle and noise of a business district, and without the sterility of your average hotel, The Solon Langworthy House has a classy, private, home-like feel. We have a behind-the-scenes operation, so you won't feel like you are staying in someone else's house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Solon Langworthy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Solon Langworthy House Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing