We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hancock House B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hancock House B and B
Ranked #1 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Twin Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hancock House B & B”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My trips to Minnesota and Iowa definitely had their highlights, but the Hancock House tops the list for sure. Whether it was sitting on the front porch enjoying the pleasant breeze, chatting around the breakfast table with other guests, checking on the progress of the baby birds that had nested in the front door wreath, sleeping soundly on the wonderful feather topped mattresses--everything was top notch, interesting, and comfortable. We stayed in two different rooms: Anna's Room (the maid) and Mr. Hancock's room. We enjoyed them both. The woodwork, pictures, and furniture in the first floor area was just beautiful. The hosts were so personable and gracious, willing to accommodate every guests' needs. Although the purpose of the visit was to attend a commencement at Wartburg Seminary, I am trying to figure a way to go back to eastern Iowa soon!

Room Tip: Mr. Hancock's room overlooks the town of Dubuque and has a very nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoosierinidaho42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
106
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in the Mr Hancock room and enjoyed the room and view very much. The hosts were very friendly and hospitable. The breakfast both mornings that we were there was great and it was fun meeting the other people and finding out where they were from and what they were doing. The view from our room was awesome and you could see the entire downtown and parts of the river. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We spent a long weekend visiting Dubuque and Galena and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hancock House. The hospitality is top notch and the breakfasts were outstanding. We stayed in the Ballroom on the third floor and the accommodations were very nice. When we go back for another visit to eastern Iowa we'll be staying at the Hancock House.

Room Tip: The Ballroom does not have a view of the city, but does have a drawing room that allows for secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zifesgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The owners here are wonderful, and the breakfast is just as good. The rooms are clean our favorite is the Doll House Room. We love the beverage center and the view from the front deck is to die for. Their beds all have feather tops on top of them and they are the best, so good that we asked them where we could buy them! This is a very victorian bed and breakfast and they have done a great up at upkeeping the inside and outside of the house. We used to stay at a place downtown in Galena but this is our new favorite. Thank you for making it special for my husband and I.

Room Tip: One with a whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 493AshleyC493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistique, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The most outstanding aspect of this B&B is the cleanliness - it is immaculate. Victorian theme is the decor but it is done in a lovely tasteful manner - not overdone as in some Victorian B&Bs. The original fireplaces are unusual and the rooms are very spacious. Although located in town, the noises of city living were absent. Of course, it was too cold to have open windows, but I think you would simply hear song birds high on this hill in Dubuque. Susan and Chuck were were warm and welcoming hosts, but not intrusive and their guest kitchenette was full of refreshments. When passing through Dubuque on our to and fro visits between Michigan and Iowa, we definitely will stay with them again. Thank you for sharing your home.

Room Tip: Stayed in one, but viewed them all and would try each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I have treated ourselves to Chuck and Susan's hospitality three times, and each time we have been impressed by the house, service and breakfast! We stayed in the Dollroom on the third floor with a whirlpool tub in the Queen Anne style turret overlooking downtown. The view was amazing. Make sure you allow plenty of time for breakfast and conversation with Chuck and Susan in the morning.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have a beautiful view of downtown Dubuque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My teenage son and I stayed for several weeks at the Hancock House last Summer. Chuck & Susan were great! They were so inviting and helpful and made us feel like family. The accommodations allowed us to enjoy our first visit to Iowa which was such a delight! And their breakfast was deliciousand plentiful! Their house is absolutely gorgeous and quite comfortable. We just had such a great time at their B&B , we can't wait to return and visit them and their happy dog!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#15 of 17 in Dubuque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock House B and B

Property: Hancock House B and B
Address: 1105 Grove Ter, Dubuque, IA 52001-4644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock House offers 9 rooms all with private baths and queen size beds. We serve a full breakfast and also have a complimentary beverage center. Enjoy our beautiful view from two parlors and the wrap around front porch with swings and furniture. Great place for reunions and friends to gather. Restored Queen Anne and decorated with period furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock House B And B Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing