We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hancock House B and B
Ranked #1 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband I and I spent four nights in Mr. Hancock`s Room. The bed was comfortable. The room was immaculate and beautiful and the closet was very convenient. The shower was strong. I needed a real getaway. The incredible breakfasts and the friendly conversations among the other guests and Chuck and Susan as well as with us were just what I needed. It was a very warm and comfortable atmosphere of kind interesting people, but not at all intrusive.We could have all the privacy or quiet time we wanted. We took advantage of the great views from the room over Dubuque to rest in our room, and I also very much enjoyed the swing on the porch with the great view over Dubuque, at anytime of the day or evening. Living for a few days in the house allowed me to notice and appreciate the intricate detailing. The gentle environment set by Susan and Chuck was very restful. We plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
What a kind and complimentary review you wrote for The Hancock House and your stay. We very much appreciate you taking the time and hope to see you again. Regards, Susan and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
106
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We spent Friday and Saturday night in Florence ' s room. The room was beautiful as is the entire home. The breakfast both mornings was delicious. Chuck and Susan are such gracious hosts, they always make our stay special. I can't wait to be in the area again so we can visit again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joyfulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of the house and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you came back and hope to see you again soon. Susan and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Over the years, we have stayed in 15-20 B&B's on the east cost and midwest. None compares to Hancock House. Yes, the rooms are lovely and afford wonderful views of Dubuque and environs. Yes, the Doll Room with comfortable bed and large whirlpool in the third floor turret was immaculate and cozy. Yes, the breakfasts (e.g., French toast croissant with cream cheese and orange marmalade) were delicious. Yes, there are many delightful touches (two porch swings, custom-crafted root beer on tap in the guests' pantry.) But what makes the Hancock House extraordinary are Chuck and Susan, the innkeepers. Chuck (the extrovert) and Susan (the introvert) are both so gracious, personable and thoroughly hospitable. They understand the joy of being "at table together" and help others enter into that comfortably. It was our first visit, and we left feeling we had been given the gift of open-hearted friendship without pressure or unwelcome intrusion. Though they had never met me, they made special effort to ensure my 50th birthday celebration was memorable. Their warm hospitality sets the tenor for all the guests. We were blessed to be there, and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review of The Hancock House and taking time to write it for us. We enjoyed our visit with you and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Susan and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Lovely rooms with incredible views of Dubuque and the river. The breakfast was so very yummy. Our hosts were terrific. This was our second visit and we love it. It's the only one we'll ever go to in Dubuque area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south have the best view. If you like a whirlpool tub there are rooms with those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Hancock House and taking the time to write it for us. We are glad you came back for your 2nd stay and hope you will come again. Susan and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is our 4th visit. We love the house! The view is spectacular, the breakfast is always good and the hosts , Chuck and Susan are so kind...If I don't get to visit at least once a year, my year is not complete!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenhartlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review and taking the time to write one for us. We appreciate your 4 stays and hope you will come again. Thank you for your kind words about The Hancock House. Susan and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just returned from a wonderful getaway with friends at the Hancock House. Chuck and Susan are very welcoming and gracious hosts who make you feel right at home and enjoy sharing a good laugh. The house and furnishings are exquisite and we loved learning about the home's history. The holiday decorations were beautiful. We stayed in Mr. Hancock's room, which has a reading area in a cupola, a working fireplace, and a great view of the city and the Mississippi River to the east. We appreciated the guest's pantry stocked with coffee, tea, wine, beer and soda. After a delicious breakfast and extended good conversation we headed to the river area and spotted some eagles in trees on nearby bluffs. All in all a great experience and we plan to join our friends there again later in the year -- it will be hard to choose which gorgeous room to reserve next time.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong -- all the rooms are beautiful. The inn website has pictures and description...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for writing a review for us and for the kind words you had to say about The Hancock House and Chuck and I. We hope you will return with your friends. Susan and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camanche, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Hancock House. If you have only one night to do something special I would highly recommend a stay at Chuck and Susan's B&B. Wonderful hosts, They welcomed us to their home and made sure our stay was worth coming back again. The atmosphere was cozy yet elegant in this beautiful Victorian home. Breakfast was outstanding! Lots to do in Dubuque, include this B&B on your next visit. Nancy L.

Room Tip: Mississippi River view from many of the rooms. However every room has it's own enjoyable persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Hancock House and the kind words you had to say about your stay. We hope you will return again. Susan and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#15 of 17 in Dubuque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock House B and B

Property: Hancock House B and B
Address: 1105 Grove Ter, Dubuque, IA 52001-4644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock House offers 9 rooms all with private baths and queen size beds. We serve a full breakfast and also have a complimentary beverage center. Enjoy our beautiful view from two parlors and the wrap around front porch with swings and furniture. Great place for reunions and friends to gather. Restored Queen Anne and decorated with period furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock House B And B Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing