We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hancock House B and B
Ranked #1 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location, well maintained, and a great breakfast.

Owners made us feel welcome. Great place for one night or an extended stay. The pictures and antiques throught the home are interesting. Many comfortable nooks to sit and enjoy a bottle of wine. Great flowers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking time for to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Regards, Susan and Chuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second time and it was just as great as the last. Friendly people and very nice rooms. Convenient to dining downtown. Such a comfortable place to unwind. The reservation process was top notch and the prices are very reasonable for the amenities offered.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bigmoney1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review of The Hancock House. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review for us. We hope to see you again. Susan and Chuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband I and I spent four nights in Mr. Hancock`s Room. The bed was comfortable. The room was immaculate and beautiful and the closet was very convenient. The shower was strong. I needed a real getaway. The incredible breakfasts and the friendly conversations among the other guests and Chuck and Susan as well as with us were just what I needed. It was a very warm and comfortable atmosphere of kind interesting people, but not at all intrusive.We could have all the privacy or quiet time we wanted. We took advantage of the great views from the room over Dubuque to rest in our room, and I also very much enjoyed the swing on the porch with the great view over Dubuque, at anytime of the day or evening. Living for a few days in the house allowed me to notice and appreciate the intricate detailing. The gentle environment set by Susan and Chuck was very restful. We plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

What a kind and complimentary review you wrote for The Hancock House and your stay. We very much appreciate you taking the time and hope to see you again. Regards, Susan and Chuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We spent Friday and Saturday night in Florence ' s room. The room was beautiful as is the entire home. The breakfast both mornings was delicious. Chuck and Susan are such gracious hosts, they always make our stay special. I can't wait to be in the area again so we can visit again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank joyfulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of the house and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you came back and hope to see you again soon. Susan and Chuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Over the years, we have stayed in 15-20 B&B's on the east cost and midwest. None compares to Hancock House. Yes, the rooms are lovely and afford wonderful views of Dubuque and environs. Yes, the Doll Room with comfortable bed and large whirlpool in the third floor turret was immaculate and cozy. Yes, the breakfasts (e.g., French toast croissant with cream cheese and orange marmalade) were delicious. Yes, there are many delightful touches (two porch swings, custom-crafted root beer on tap in the guests' pantry.) But what makes the Hancock House extraordinary are Chuck and Susan, the innkeepers. Chuck (the extrovert) and Susan (the introvert) are both so gracious, personable and thoroughly hospitable. They understand the joy of being "at table together" and help others enter into that comfortably. It was our first visit, and we left feeling we had been given the gift of open-hearted friendship without pressure or unwelcome intrusion. Though they had never met me, they made special effort to ensure my 50th birthday celebration was memorable. Their warm hospitality sets the tenor for all the guests. We were blessed to be there, and hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review of The Hancock House and taking time to write it for us. We enjoyed our visit with you and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Susan and Chuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Lovely rooms with incredible views of Dubuque and the river. The breakfast was so very yummy. Our hosts were terrific. This was our second visit and we love it. It's the only one we'll ever go to in Dubuque area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south have the best view. If you like a whirlpool tub there are rooms with those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review of The Hancock House and taking the time to write it for us. We are glad you came back for your 2nd stay and hope you will come again. Susan and Chuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is our 4th visit. We love the house! The view is spectacular, the breakfast is always good and the hosts , Chuck and Susan are so kind...If I don't get to visit at least once a year, my year is not complete!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenhartlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack_Black_1234, Owner at Hancock House B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review and taking the time to write one for us. We appreciate your 4 stays and hope you will come again. Thank you for your kind words about The Hancock House. Susan and Chuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Redstone Inn & Suites
Redstone Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Dubuque
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock House B and B

Address: 1105 Grove Ter, Dubuque, IA 52001-4644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range: £61 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hancock House offers 9 rooms all with private baths and queen size beds. We serve a full breakfast and also have a complimentary beverage center. Enjoy our beautiful view from two parlors and the wrap around front porch with swings and furniture. Great place for reunions and friends to gather. Restored Queen Anne and decorated with period furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hancock House B And B Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing