We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Antiques ~ Vintage ~ Stay & Sleep”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richards House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Dubuque B&B and Inns
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Antiques ~ Vintage ~ Stay & Sleep”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

SUCH A LOVELY HOME!! Built in 1883. My husband surprised me with this B&B when we came up to spend the weekend in Galena. The places there were booked - he found this B&B in Dubaque, IA. It was only a 20mn beautiful drive to and from. We had a lovely room full of old furniture and Antiques. Perfect for my husband and I. We are in our late 30's and have always loved this kind of stuff.
Ok - about this house. Kinda hard to find. The outside does not match the inside (at all). They are still working on the outside, so it looks really run down. The house is on 15th and Locust St - this is a ONE WAY going NW. On your R-side. There is a parking lot right across form them or you can park on the street.
Heavy sleepers welcome. If you are a light sleeper bring ear buds or ear plugs. You can hear the cars going by and people talking outside. This was a nagitive for me but the place its self out weight it and I did get some sleep. The other rooms my not be so bad. Ask for a room away from the street.
Breakfast was awesome, so much food - go to bed hungry...
There is a cat smell.
This is a place for couples not so much for kids. To many things they could brake. There are rooms with bathrooms in them and 2 w/o. Reasonable room prices.
1492 Locust St, Dubaque IA 52001 563-557-1492 therichardshouse.com

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    30
    6
    6
    14
See reviews for
16
75
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wentzville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for for two nights at the end of July. The breakfasts each morning were very good-a really nice selection of casseroles, eggs, and fruit. Our biggest issue was the overpowering smell of cat urine in all the common areas. It made us want to stay in our room, which is disappointing in such a neat old building. We knew that this was a work in progress, but there are a lot of little changes that need finished which would greatly improve the overall appearance. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts, and this is one that we will not be returning to.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Larissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I picked last weekend to visit Galena, Illinois—and as it turns out, it was one of the area's busiest weekends. We were also only able to stay a single night. As if these factors weren't enough to severely limit our choices, we also had budgetary considerations. Thank goodness our online search led us to The Richards House! 15 minutes from downtown Galena—just over the bridge spanning the river—is this Victorian treasure on the National Registry of Historic Places in Dubuque, Iowa.

For our one-night stay, we were given use of the enormous and richly appointed Library Suite, outfitted with original fireplaces, stained glass, woodwork, and built-in bookcases. We slept in a majestic antique half-canopy bed, read in leather chairs before the bay window, and soaked in a decadent clawfoot tub.

The rest of the house was just as inviting. The front parlour is a music room housing a baby grand piano (and a large collection of DVDs to take back to your room, tucked into yet more built-in bookcases); the dining room boasts breakfasts of homemade cakes, waffles, and baked eggs with bacon; and all the other bedrooms we got a peek into were charmingly decorated with well-selected antiques. Not content to rest on their laurels, Michelle and Dave are continually making improvements: when we got there, the backyard was being worked on, and one of the bedrooms had just been repapered in a dazzling suite of vintage papers.

Then there are the hosts: Michelle is friendly, accommodating (she serves breakfast on your schedule, not on a fixed one), and more than happy to give tours of the place from top to bottom. While Dave was busily overseeing the work in back, we enjoyed the attention of the property's feline staff: Momma Cat, Oliver, Sassy, and Socks. They're beautiful animals, happy to be petted but not overly sociable and underfoot; and since they're not allowed in the guest rooms, my allergies didn't cause me a sniffle.

True, the Richards House isn't in the heart of Galena. And its exterior, which will be restored and painted in 2014, might put you in mind of Miss Havisham's house in Great Expectations. But those minor setbacks pay huge dividends: once inside, you're rewarded with an outstanding B&B experience—for a fraction of the rates charged on the other side of the river. We look forward to staying there on our next Galena getaway, and we recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Necr0mancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed a 5day stay inside the Library Suite on a special getaway. I searched for months for a bed and breakfast that was inviting and immediately felt that after clicking onto their site. I fell in love with the photos and decided to reserve a suite in June. The outside might throw you, but you have to put that aside and venture inside. Our jaws dropped once we stepped inside, everything from ceiling to floor is so Beautiful. You would have to see it, because mere words can't do what your eyes take in. Michelle and Dave treated us as if we were friends, very pleasant, very open. We enjoyed the most delicious and most filling breakfast each morning with very good conversation with both of them. They are both very knowledgeable, we found we had a lot in common. We even became friends with the cats, but we both love animals. We formed and everlasting friendship in a very beautiful and inviting place. If you love beautiful and unique antiques, stain glass windows and History, we recommend you visit the Richards House you won't be sorry.. I promise, it was a Blessing from GOD, we found this place. We loved everything about it.

Room Tip: We recommend the Library Suite if you want lots of space, but all the rooms are beautiful so you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Dave and Michelle were excellent hosts for our weekend getaway, and the breakfasts were top notch. When the room we had reserved wasn't available due to renovations, they comped us a night and let us use an even better room (the library) on our second day. Admittedly, the outside isn't much to look at and serious renovations are in the works, but we loved the Victorian interior and the history of the house. The fellow guests were great, and privacy was never a problem. This is a great "mom & pop" B&B that deserves your support!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISUCyHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights in the Library Suite over Memorial Day. We feel quite lucky to have found this wonderful B and B. Dave and Michelle were so welcoming and very helpful with ideas and suggestions. Our room was spacious and clean. We had 2 fireplaces that we enjoyed on this rainy weekend. The clawfoot soaker tub was heavenly. The breakfast on both mornings was scrumptious and plentiful. We are already discussing when we can go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I booked a one night in the Richards House, hoping the photos did the B&B justice...they did and more. The interior is wonderful...they inkeepers, Michelle and David are very hospitable and the accomodations were great. The location and value is also excellent. The state of restoration varies from inside to outside. The size of the property makes this a huge undertaking and it will be awhile before they're able to get everything done, but from my perspective it doesn't harm the overall experience. Our group loved the evening snack, the complete breakfast as well as the inkeepers knowledge of the local history, history of the house with insights into some of the intricate wood and tile craftsmanship, the stained glass, and their painstaking effort to make sure every new addition is in keeping with the Victorian period. The bedrooms are very roomy with wood burning fireplaces, sitting areas, and comfortable beds (the pictures make the rooms appear to be smaller then they really are) the bathrooms have big tubs.

Our only cautions are if you're looking for a 100% rennovated place or are alergic to pets, you may want to look elswhere, but if you love experiencing living history, seeing what ingenuity can accomplish, enjoying a home-cooked breakfast all at very affordable price, then you'll love the Richards House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an attached bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#15 of 17 in Dubuque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richards House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richards House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Richards House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1492 Locust St, Dubuque, IA 52001-4714
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Richards House Bed And Breakfast Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing