We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon Host Hotel No No”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Eatonton, United States
1 review
“Marathon Host Hotel No No”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Only negative. A late check out request was denied even though the hotel advertised itself as the host hotel for a marathon. Don't be a host hotel for a marathon if you do not allow late check outs. Marathoners typically like to get cleaned up after the event before travelling.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    193
    62
    14
    16
See reviews for
291
154
26
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were in and out of this hotel in less than 12 hours. Nice rooms, quiet (where our room was located) and clean. Would stay again if we were in the area. Not as close to downtown Dubuque as we might have liked, but not a long trip when we made it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a (4 night) family event that involved 36 individuals of varying ages (1 to 87) and found the motel to be not only reasonably priced but just what our group needed.

The thing that impressed us the most was the staff. Their motto seemed to be "we can not do enough to help you enjoy your stay". Very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and quick. We stayed there 5 nights and had a maintenance issue with a toilet one day and the maintenance man was dispatched and arrived at our room in less than 2 minutes! He was the epitome of helpfulness, efficiency and effectiveness!

It provided a large pool and game areas (game arcade, ping pong, air hockey). Adjacent to the pool was a large area with tables that accommodated individuals sitting and talking, eating or playing cards. This worked out so well with a large group of people. The children could have space to play and swim while still being able to be monitored by parents easily.

The rooms are not huge but were fine. Rooms could have used more space for clothes storage.

Champps restaurant is part of the motel complex and prepared/served the hot breakfasts. They were more than adequate in variety and quantity, and quite tasty. We ate there several times for lunch and dinner. It also supplies room service to rooms and to the pool area at no additional charge-a real plus! Our only complaint we had regarding food delivered to the motel was to decide to order pizza elsewhere the next time, all else was very good.

Because of the length of our stay it was very nice to have 2 washers and dryers on the premises. Fitness room was adequately equipped and maintained.

We used the Sales office to facilitate a family event one night. To say that the sales office was accommodating and helpful is an understatement. They were fantastic to work with! Staffing on the night of the event was adequate (attitudes were great as usual too), banquet room's size was fine, and buffet/food was very good. They were "right on time" relative to room's availability (for decorating prior to event), buffet to begin being served, etc. (Our buffet included lasagna, chicken piccata and carved beef-all of the entrees were cooked perfectly and delicious!)

We have another larger family event in a couple of years and are now considering utilizing this motel for that event.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 389TomT389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a great family hotel, has a great pool, a great activity area (ping pong, pool and game room), a fun restaurant/bar. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms were roomy and clean. We have decided we will stay here each time we visit Dubuque.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although the refrigerator didn't work, we didn't report it until check out. There was a very loud humming noise coming from somewhere until around midnight. Was very annoying. The grandkids loved the pool area and play area. Would probably stay there again. Breakfast wasn't the greatest. Food tasted OK, but not much selection. But it's FREE!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Check in was fine. Walked in the back enterance and smelled of a hotel people have been smoking in for YEARS! Pool and excersize area good and clean. Room smelled of musty and mildew to where it kept me up. Garbage left around the bed from previous people. Water pressure not there. Shower area dirty. Just felt yucky when we left. PICTRES ONLINE ARE NOT CURRENT!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Lea, MN, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed there for a family function. We were very pleased with the property. We will stay again. Breakfast buffet was next door at a restaurant. It was very nice. The location was good for activities in the Dubuque area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Erwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
624 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 3100 Dodge St, Highway 20 W, Dubuque, IA 52003-5203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubuque
#3 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#3 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently remodeled hotel in Dubuque, Iowa offers stylish accommodations and a deluxe hot breakfast complimentary 7 days a week. Escape to the picturesque Best Western PLUS Dubuque Hotel and experience friendly customer service to make any stay a memorable one. Champps Americana Sports Bar and Restaurant conveniently located right on site. Centrally located in Dubuque, the hotel offers a quiet, peaceful atmosphere and beautiful manicured landscaping. Hotel guests will be a short drive from the Mississippi River and Port of Dubuque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Best Western Dubuque
Dubuque Best Western
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing