We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to like. Convenient for travel to Galena,IL”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots to like. Convenient for travel to Galena,IL”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We got a great rate for the weekend of April 26 2013 since we went in the late spring season. The hotel is on a small site on a main street. The hotel was very clean. Our room had a king size bed. While the bathroom itself was small, a granite countertop had been installed, as well as a elliptical shower curtain rod, for a luxurious feel. The amenities included a free daily newspaper, and, a free breakfast that included hot (make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, and biscuits and gravy) and cold (cereal, yogurt) as well as juice, coffee, fruit, and muffins.

These physical room features are complemented by an efficient, helpful staff.

The Village Inn Restaurant, on John F Kennedy Rd, is less than 2 miles from this hotel, and serves good food for those looking for a light lunch.

Gasoline was cheaper in Iowa than in Illinois.

This hotel was a great home base for visiting Galena, 20 minutes away. On the April 26 weekend the Boy Scouts were in Galena. Still Galena was not crowded. Another time to go is on the 3rd weekend in April when the Galena History Museum is open for free in honor of Ulysses S Grant's birthday.

Room Tip: I stayed on the non-smoking floor which is the second floor. Even the room by the elevator is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
37
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I Took the wife shopping in Galena for the weekend. The property was on the Main drag and was easy to find. The Kennedy Shopping Mall is down the road with a very unique movie theater. The room was clean and had a reasonable rate. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Literod45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed last fall (September 2012) and had a really mixed stay. On the bottom floor, a couple of the rooms were going through a major construction re-vamp. It made traveling down the hallway to the elevator a little unsightly, but okay.

They had complementary lemonade and the suite was clean. The rooms don't have a lot of space to navigate in. If you're walking by the beds and someone is wanting the other way - then you'll have to stop, backup and let the other person through. It's not a deal breaker, but it's just a minor annoyance. The bathrooms are even smaller as it was hard to move in there - and close the door without straddling the toilet.

The property is aging and it shows. If they are in the midst of updating and renovating, then the location of the Comfort Inn to downtown can't be beat. There's several businesses and restaurants a couple of miles away and a large WalMart across the street.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are nice - but try to avoid the ones by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSpooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savanna, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We had a girls weekend planned at Hilton Garden Inn. They ended up messing up our reservation and we refused to stay there. Last minute we called Comfort Inn. Trish..the desk clerk at Comfort Inn...was able to set us up with 2 King Suites. She saved our girls weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prophetstown, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

When another hotel messed up our reservation, we called Dubuque Comfort Inn came to the rescue!! They were able to take care of us at the last minute and with GREAT customer service! Trish was helpful and pleasant! We had great rooms and a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Clean, updated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Found the comfort inn after a group of friends needed 2 rooms. They were able to get us 2 next to each other last minute and upgraded us to suites! They are going through a remodel right now. Everything was very nice. Great location by the mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsedivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
201 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Exterior is a little rough and the hotel is between a lumber yard and another hotel,but was nice inside.Clean rooms and helpful front desk check in was fast.As always with choice hotels free breakfast and wifi in the rooms,and the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNDSZ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#12 of 17 in Dubuque
79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 4055 McDonald Dr, Dubuque, IA 52003-5249 (Formerly Dubuque Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dubuque Comfort Inn® is conveniently located near many area attractions, including America's River at the Port of Dubuque, Diamond Jo Casino, Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino, Five Flags Civic Center, the Dubuque County Fairgrounds, Sundown Mountain and the Kennedy Mall. This Dubuque, IA hotel is just minutes from Loras College, Clarke College and the University of Dubuque. The Finley Hospital and Mercy Medical Center are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing