We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, mediocre hotel, stay only if it's a bargain”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Burlington, IA
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great service, mediocre hotel, stay only if it's a bargain”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend. First, the staff is wonderful- we had several issues during our stay and while they could not fix everything they tried, and more importantly they acted like they genuinely cared. Issues- we booked a suite, understandably at a higher price than a standard room. CAUTION- these are NOT suites- they are modest "oversized" rooms at best. The bathroom is TINY, no different than a standard room, the overall room may be a tad larger than standard rooms, but not enough to warrant the extra charge.
We booked a non-smoking room; however it was right next to a regular smoking room, and it was at the end of the hall where the two rooms across from ours and the next door room were smoking rooms- thus OUR ROOM SMELLED LIKE SMOKE- so much so that when we returned home our clothes we had not worn reeked of smoke...gross. Upon requesting a different room at check in we were told all rooms were reserved.
On Saturday night the hotel was full and upon returning at 930pm the hotel parking lot was full. Several in our party had to park in the next door hotel's parking lot or in the frontage road- inexcusable. One final issue- there was no hot water the night we arrived; upon calling the desk we were told that one of the water heaters had quit but was repaired that day. The next day and night we had hot water.
The breakfast room is small but the choices for the free bkfst were decent, and the pool and hot tub felt great. The beds are very comfortable, the hvac is average at best. Again, the staff is commendable, the hotel itself and its price point were not for this visit. Management was agreeable to adjusting our final bill- further proof that the staff did try to make this a good stay for us. If booking just be wary of the term "suite" and avoid all rooms next to smoking rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readittoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    43
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
44
37
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

If you are looking for affordable lodging this is the place for you. Unbeatable rates, good service, super clean room, free internet and free breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silfau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Stayed at the Comfort Inn two nights for work. My biggest complaint was the overwhelming smell of smoke everywhere in hotel. My co-worker and I were on a non smoking floor, but we sure couldn’t tell. Also, the days we were in town were extremely windy and the window in my first room was making a very loud noise as a result. I think the window wasn’t insulated properly. They did give me a room on the opposite side of the hotel after I asked. I slept alright once in the new much quieter room. The beds were comfortable enough. The free W-Fi worked well and breakfast was decent. Still not sure $70 some odd dollars a night for that place was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmoothFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellie3171, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
"Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I apologize these issues caused you to have a negative experience at our hotel. I want to assure you that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and these issues are being addressed! We hope with our efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you change your mind and try the Dubuque Comfort Inn again next time you stay in the area."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beloit, IL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Stayed here and went to the Casino's in Dubuque. We did not realize until we checked into the hotel that they had shuttle service to both Casino's. The sign said to check with the front desk which we did not so I don't know if they charged for transportation or not. We drove. It was not very far to either one but our Navagation system in our car helped a lot getting through downtown Dubuque. Breakfast was good. They had waffles, muffins, cereal, bisquits and gravy, milk, juice and fruit. All in all, nice stay for what we needed. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzarkME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

I stayed here again after a couple years. Still reliable. Nothing fancy, but free wireless and breakfast sweeten the already low rate.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Holland, IL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We have stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times in the past five years. It has become a home away from home every time we visit Galena. It used to be a great experience every time, but in all honesty, the last couple of years have really taken its toll on this place. It's not what it used to be.

Our room this time was small, but since we did not have our kids, we were okay with that. The toilet didn't flush well and when we called the front desk, they came down and showed us the "trick"... you have to hold the handle down for a full 20 seconds. Why not just replace the toilet so you can flush it without knowing "the trick"? The drains also ran a bit slower than they should have.

We were right next to the pool, which was not a problem. There was no noise or any kind of disturbance. The pool is always a bit chilly, but this can be refreshing at times. This time however, the hot tub was barely lukewarm. This is not acceptable, as I always look forward to a good soak in the hot tub before bed. Last time we stayed here, the hot tub was so hot, it could barely be used. They need to get this taken care of.

Breakfast is always pleasant. I do go down very early, so I've never had any problems with items not being stocked. The only things that interest me are the hot waffles, fruit and orange juice, which are always tasty. I can do without the other items. It is not the same as the hot breakfasts at some of the other Choice Hotels we've stayed at, with tons of options. This is pretty much simple fare- waffles, toasted items, donut holes, cereal and oatmeal. The tv is always on and set to a level where you can hear it, but still can talk to your companion.

One thing we do like about this place is it's location... right across the street from a Super WalMart and right next door to a Hobby Lobby, which is a store I love, but don't have nearby here at home. Having the WalMart across the street has come in so handy for picking up things we either forgot or needed when traveling with young kids.

We have stayed here for so many years that it's hard to leave, but I do have to admit that I am actually looking elsewhere for our next trip out that way. It seems that the nice place we loved and felt comfortable at for so many years just isn't being given any TLC, and that's a shame.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherOfTwoSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Very friendly motel staff. We had two rooms and both were clean, and comfortable. The pool and hot tub area were also fine to relax that night. It was also very handy to get around due to it's location. The price was just an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Dubuque
Days Inn Dubuque
#14 of 17 in Dubuque
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 4055 McDonald Dr, Dubuque, IA 52003-5249 (Formerly Dubuque Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dubuque Comfort Inn® is conveniently located near many area attractions, including America's River at the Port of Dubuque, Diamond Jo Casino, Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino, Five Flags Civic Center, the Dubuque County Fairgrounds, Sundown Mountain and the Kennedy Mall. This Dubuque, IA hotel is just minutes from Loras College, Clarke College and the University of Dubuque. The Finley Hospital and Mercy Medical Center are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Dubuque, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing