We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dubuque Convenience and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed in at the Dubuque, Iowa Holiday Inn and we were pleasantly surprised. We do expect good service and amenities at Holiday Inn's in general, and typically are not disappointed, however, the Dubuque Holiday Inn staff went above and beyond expectation. First convenience is wonderful. Adjacent and free parking . Shuttle service around downtown, such as to local Casino's. Again, free shuttle service to Dubuque airport, 8 miles away. Room was immaculate and spacious. We dined in dining room, where food was excellent and very reasonable in cost. Service was fair, based on slowness and order mix-up which was only area on visit where there was room for improvement. Check in and out staff were friendly and very efficient as well.

Room Tip: Top floor was very nice, decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We just spent two nights here while competing in the Loras College Mock Trial Tournament. Check in was a breeze and we were able to eat at the restaurant in the hotel. The hotel staff made the dinner reservation and found us a map so we could make a trial run up to the College before the start of the tournament the next day. The restaurant staff couldn't be nicer or give us better service. We were traveling with 9 students and we were even given a complimentary buffet breakfast even though it was not part of our rate. The rooms were clean and the spacious. These folks in Dubuque couldn't have been nicer to us or our students. We will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocLawDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Had a wonderful night's stay in Dubuque at the Holiday Inn. Rooms were decent sized, clean, modern, and well decorated. The lobby outshines a lot of Holiday Inn's that I have been at before and there is free parking - something that I didn't expect for a downtown location.

No breakfast (free at least) here - but there is food served at the hotel as well as a McDonalds a block away. Great location - great hotel!

(I travel all over the country with my job, and I contribute on EVERY hotel I stay in. Trip Advisor has been a great tool for me, and I contribute fairly, for both good and bad facilities.)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunnyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Went for Aniversery this hotel has some age but it very clean and updated. Staff was helpful and pleasent,Sedija at front desk was a breath of fresh air. Shuttle to local casino was prompt also.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed a few times over the past year. The hotel staff was always friendly, rooms were clean and reasonably priced. Location is downtown Dubuque with many restaurants/bars in walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We spent a long weekend in Dubuque with our son and niece to visit the aquarium and Crystal Cave. This hotel is located in the perfect spot for visiting Dubuque. Most attractions are a short walk with the rest being an easy drive away. The visitors center is across the street and is well worth a visit. There are several inexpensive and good restaurants a block or two away.

The hotel was quiet and clean but basic. Beds were exceptionally comfortable. The pool is quite small and the surfaces of the pool bottom and the area have a rough surface that are uncomfortable to walk on. As with most chain hotels the staff is not overly eager to promote other local businesses since they have a bar and restaurant on site. My only complaint is a minor one being cold coffee in the lobby one morning and no coffee and then no lids the next.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. The location is exceptional even if the property is a bit bland.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We booked four rooms for a weekend get-a-way with other couples. The hotel staff was very nice and all four rooms were located on the same floor and in the same general area. The hotel offers a shuttle service which worked out great. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The pool area was not very large but we did not use that area. Not much more to ask for or say!

Room Tip: If you like wine take a trip to Park Farms and enjoy some wine tasting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,431 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
697 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: £68 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing