We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top rated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel is located in a graet spot in Downtown Dubuque. You are in walking distance of great places to eat and small shops to buy local wares. Ths hotel offeres a shuttle service and breakfast. Even though the parking is in the back of the hotel it still is located easily and I would reccommend it 100% to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dubuque
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Be carelfull with this Hotel. They still have smoking rooms and you might just be unexpectly placed in one as we did with no chance for a change by Hotel management. I never have smoked in my lifetime yet slept in a stale smokey room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear fasso,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We welcome feedback especially from valued guests like you.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience your room has caused you. I am sorry that the room allocated to you fell below your standards.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel and I have yet to be disappointed.

Clean comfortable rooms with a great downtown location. My room was on the first floor and it was still a nice and quiet stay. Nice fitness facility to meet your needs. Indoor pool looked inviting as well. Onsite bar/restaurant had great and friendly service as well as some other customers that made good conversation.

This hotel is located in the center of downtown and within walking distance to many other bars and restaurants. Parking in back was free and I didn't feel my car was unsafe.

Over all this is a nice place to stay for business and I would and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cweld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Terrible stay!! Broken bed springs, very loud halls & neighbors, dingy and dirty look and feel to halls AND room! Beds had dirty crumbs in them....will never ever stay here again! Even if it was a free stay I'd still refuse!! Gross and seriously overpriced should have been a 1or2 star!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the holiday inn!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ngranback, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Frequent Traveler 1521:

Thank you for the review of your stay in July 2012. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered, especially with cleanliness of your room. We strive to provide excellent housekeeping services but it is apparent that we let you down. Since your stay here last July we have completed some major renovations to the entire lobby area and will begin with renovations to all guestroom corridors this month, which is part of our effort to keep the hotel appearance fresh and up to date. Again, thank you for your comments and I would look forward to speaking with you about our renovations and making amends for a less than satisfactory stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here a little while ago now but I guess not much would have changed. This was a very good, reasonable quality hotel in the middle of the town and very handy to everything. Lots of places to eat nearby - we had a steak meal in the hotel restaurant which was excellent. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The whole experience was excellent value for money

Room Tip: Our room faced the car park and the Mississippi River - it was quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Overall the stay at the Dubuque Holiday Inn was comfortable. The room was clean, the staff were friendly, the beds comfortable. Since I was there for a few days I found I did miss having a refrigerator in the room. I see another review says they had a nice fridge so maybe some rooms have them but that would have been a bonus. The hotel served its purpose - a comfortable place to sleep and lounge. I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Overall the Holiday Inn Dubuque was clean and comfortable. The beds had great sleep quality and the room was very clean. The lobby and lounge were everything that was advertised. I booked this hotel because we were staying over the memorial day weekend and I wanted a pool and hot tub for the kids. The pool was small and the hot tub was the smallest I have ever seen. It literally has a 2 person capacity and it was closed for half of our stay.
I like that the elevators required you to swipe your key card to get to our floor. I enjoyed the daily coffee service in the lobby. The kids were disappointed in the pool which was small, filled with adults and smokers.
Again, overall, we had a clean and comfortable stay, it is just that the pool is not great for kids.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyhotcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear johnnyhotcakes,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is pleasing to know that you had a clean and comfortable stay. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience about the pool. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Dubuque you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,278 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
664 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: £71 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing