We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but a teeny tiny pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good location, but a teeny tiny pool.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We went to the Holiday Inn for my birthday weekend. The check in was quick and the front desk very polite and helpful. Our room was clean. The location was super. Our view was overlooking a rooftop with airconditioners, so not the greatest, but thats ok. When we go someplace we go to explore, not sit in the room. The room was clean and the bed comfy with a variety of pillows. Now for the bad...the pool. We actually thought it was the hot tub!The picture is deceiving. They must have used a wide angle lens. It's about the same size as some backyard above ground pools. The parking is in the back of the hotel, up a ramp. It was full, so we had to park on a side-street. There is another parking garage which we couldn't fit in due to a canoe on our roof. No free breakfast either, but there is a restaurant on the premises which I ordered breakfast from and it was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcruizer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear beachcruizer77,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding customer service and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our pool and parking arrangement. We will look into this point.I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    131
    67
    25
    11
See reviews for
79
82
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel offered very good customer service and the rooms were really good. The rooms were clean and modern, most with either a view of the city or the river. It offers a small but functional room, a bar/restaurant and a stylish and large lobby/ lounge area.
I would go to this hotel again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

the staff at this hotel from pat at the front desk to jason at the restaurant were excellent. i had stayed at this hotel three months ago and believe it or not they remembered me, and made me feel like i was home. i stay in hotels very frequently and have never been treated this good and felt so happy about staying there. looking forward to visiting this hotel and my new friends again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer Glen, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Looking for inexpensive place to stay while traveling west. Several recommendations by the chamber of commerce. Chose Holiday in. Right in the center of town. I was a little dated (dirty hall carpets) but clean enough satisfy my picky wife. Quiet room, close restaurants. and less than $100

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here. The renovated lobby is deceiving, as our room was outdated. We had a king whirlpool suite, room 313. It was not worth the money. The caulk was peeling off around the entire tub. The air conditioner was old and really loud. We had to leave it running because otherwise the room became stuffy with a warm, musty odor, signally the unit needed to be cleaned. There is no free breakfast, which we've become accustomed to at large chains. It was nice to be able to walk around downtown and try local restaurants. The Friday night music and farmers market downtown were fun. It was a decent stay, but the hotel needs some updating.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHeiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear JLHeiny,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy that our location suited your needs. However, please accept my apology is the state of the room that you were given was a bit of a disappointment. We are constantly looking for ways to improve on our service and we will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ynotbloom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Easily located via GPS. Our departure the next day put us on the freeway rather quickly. Free Parking garage adjacent to back of hotel. We arrived at around 11:30 pm (we had called ahead and let them know of our late arrival). People appeared to be "partying" in the garage when we arrived. We waited until things looked safe before entering hotel. As they left, mentioned they were going to stay on Floor (X). Public areas very chic and inviting. Night desk staff was professional, but not personable. Our first assigned room smelled very musty and of old cigarette smell (we had called ahead and were told we had a non-smoking room). Phone in the room did not work. Went to front desk to request a change. Desk person seemed indifferent and non-emotional. However, we were changed quickly to a very nice clean and comfortable room, on Floor(X). We mentioned the "party" - were told it was probably a staffer and their family staying the night. We were put on far side of the floor from that room. Everything about this hotel (minus our first room) said 3 stars, except the staff. I have been routinely treated with more personability at 2-Star hotels. SPECIAL NOTE: The entire 4th floor is under renovation as of July 2013.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynotbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear ynotbloom,

We greatly appreciate your feedback of our property. It is pleasing to know that you found our room accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the unusual smell of the room and noise challenges during your stay. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the team accordingly.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel lobby was under renovation when I was there, but staff made up for any inconvenience with courtesy and care. Room was clean and comfortable. Large conference and meeting rooms. Breakfast was good. Bar was very busy and had an up to date beer list and good food. Downtown Dubuque has a few good quality pubs and restaurants that are walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,227 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
647 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Property: Holiday Inn Dubuque
Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing