We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Person at check in was rude and acted as though I made her inconvenienced for being there. Was promised $20 for breakfast for $10 and would not honor and was very rude when I asked for someone else to help or to explain why it was promised to us. Will never stay here again. Room was ok, basic and shower needs updating.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP10911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear KP10911,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here for four nights while I attended a business seminar. The staff was friendly, the manager made a point of checking with us daily. On Wednesday they had a small reception just off the main lobby, not a big deal but a nice touch to a nice stay. The rates were very reasonable the rooms were quiet but one in our group mentioned trains, asked to be booked of the main street. The hotel has a reasonably priced restaurant and bar and the staff there is a delight. If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to be booked away from the river one in our group said the trains were noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We travel to Dubuque several times a year and have reached the point where we always stay at the Holiday Inn in downtown Dubuque. We love the comfort of the bed & linens, we actually get quality sleep while there, which is definitely NOT the case in many places we stay. Our room/suite is exceptionally clean as are the public areas. Anything you need or want to know about, the front desk staff are willing to help. If you happen to casually mention a need or question in The Beefstro, the Bartenders Jason & Connie will find answers for you. It's quite amazing the lengths that the staff go to to help. We usually eat dinner in the bar later in the evening, the ribs & pasta are exceptional. Breakfast in the Restaurant is good but very pricey. The Hotel literature shows that the Breakfast Buffet is served on the weekends, it was not the weekend we were there, so I would suggest updating the printed materials in the room. Our Suite was a sweet treat for another memorable trip to Dubuque.

Room Tip: Suites are great to have if you plan on gathering with family or friends. We had 10 people in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motreasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. While there have been some cosmetic updates, he hotel shows its age in certain areas (the heat/ac units in the rooms pop to mind first, the pool area, and paper thin walls). The "locked" door from the lower level of the parking garage was never actually locked and the key card reader on our door took about 4 tries of swiping the key to gain entry to the room.

Overall, this hotel was acceptable, but definitely nothing special. We're headed back to Dubuque at Christmas and will try a different place for that trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear ktyg,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments about the AC units, walls and the pool area have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here one night, just passing through on a roadtrip with an uncle that likes Holiday Inn brand hotels. We happened to pass through on I believe Labor Day a couple years ago. Any rate, the restaurant was closed, but the bar was open with a limited menu. That was fine; I was in the mood for a light meal anyhow. The bar staff was nice, and the food was brought out relatively quickly. No complaints about the food or drinks. The staff was great in general from the moment we stepped in. The hotel was pretty was well. Location-wise it is pretty good as well. Hoping to get back at some point. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just and FYI, there is no longer an executive lounge and all the rooms have a mini fridge, so basically there is no reason to pay additional for the executive rooms and it's a hassle any way because you need to use your room key to get to the 5th floor in the elevator. We booked the executive room after being told there was an executive happy hour and that was the only way to get a mini fridge/microwave guaranteed, that was incorrect. The manager did credit us the difference in rate, but it still was kind of odd.

Otherwise, restaurant is pretty good, JASON the bartender is the BEST!!!

Everything else was average or above. I was a little turned off by the room service trays that sat in the hallway for days...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triniesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear triniesu,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We are pleased you did enjoy our restaurant and our staff. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the positives! The hotel had a nice lobby. The room was clean, and most of the furniture was nice. There was a large flat screen tv, so that was nice. The bed was very comfortable. And best of all, this was probably the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. I never heard another guest while we were in our room. Overall, the room was comfortable. However, the hotel could use se updates on things like light fixtures and other small finishes. You could tell it was an old building, but not historic old, like '70's old. The lighting was very dim all over the hotel - in the hallway, the elevator, the lobby, and in the room. The bathroom was particularly dark for some reason. The hallway smelled like cigarette smoke, so that was unpleasant. I didn't think hotels allowed smoking anymore. It would have been nice to be on a non-smoking floor, not just in a non-smoking room. To end on a positive note, the bartender was friendly and gave helpful suggestions on restaurants and other points of interest in the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in downtown Dubuque if they didn't want to spend a fortune, but still wanted somewhere nice to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ngranback, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear LisNick,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Dubuque and for providing us with feedback about your stay. We are glad that you found our hotel clean, comfortable, quiet, and that you enjoyed our service provided by our bartender. Within the last year we have renovated our public space to include new lighting fixtures. We will evaluate the brightness provided by those fixtures and if possible, try to add a little more light. We continue to spend capital to upgrade our hotel and are looking at eliminating the guestroom smoking wing as well as continuing to update the guestrooms. Again, thank you for the comments, both positive and constructive. We look forward to your next visit to Dubuque.

Norm Granback
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
685 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range: £70 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing