We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place! ”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Traveled in for a conference. Great location and easy to find. Parking located behind building. Staff was great and greeted us warmly upon arrival. Located right next door to 5 flags theatre. Will stay here again if ever in town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gregg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    126
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
76
81
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stopped here in early January on our way north. We look for clean, quiet, well located and pet friendly ata fair price. We scored with this spot on each of the criteria. The added bonus was an in-house restaurant which served amazing ribs at a fair price! This is especially appreciated when travelling with dogs because you can't leave them in the room alone while you go our for dinner so we end up with delivered food from outside or room service from a full menu. Room service wins every time. Staff were pleasant at all times. Service was good. Room was excellent with great Wifi access, included in the room rate. My only small negative is that the area to "exercise" the dogs was fairly small - but certainly adequate. Strong recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Person at check in was rude and acted as though I made her inconvenienced for being there. Was promised $20 for breakfast for $10 and would not honor and was very rude when I asked for someone else to help or to explain why it was promised to us. Will never stay here again. Room was ok, basic and shower needs updating.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP10911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear KP10911,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here for four nights while I attended a business seminar. The staff was friendly, the manager made a point of checking with us daily. On Wednesday they had a small reception just off the main lobby, not a big deal but a nice touch to a nice stay. The rates were very reasonable the rooms were quiet but one in our group mentioned trains, asked to be booked of the main street. The hotel has a reasonably priced restaurant and bar and the staff there is a delight. If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to be booked away from the river one in our group said the trains were noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palisade, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We travel to Dubuque several times a year and have reached the point where we always stay at the Holiday Inn in downtown Dubuque. We love the comfort of the bed & linens, we actually get quality sleep while there, which is definitely NOT the case in many places we stay. Our room/suite is exceptionally clean as are the public areas. Anything you need or want to know about, the front desk staff are willing to help. If you happen to casually mention a need or question in The Beefstro, the Bartenders Jason & Connie will find answers for you. It's quite amazing the lengths that the staff go to to help. We usually eat dinner in the bar later in the evening, the ribs & pasta are exceptional. Breakfast in the Restaurant is good but very pricey. The Hotel literature shows that the Breakfast Buffet is served on the weekends, it was not the weekend we were there, so I would suggest updating the printed materials in the room. Our Suite was a sweet treat for another memorable trip to Dubuque.

Room Tip: Suites are great to have if you plan on gathering with family or friends. We had 10 people in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motreasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. While there have been some cosmetic updates, he hotel shows its age in certain areas (the heat/ac units in the rooms pop to mind first, the pool area, and paper thin walls). The "locked" door from the lower level of the parking garage was never actually locked and the key card reader on our door took about 4 tries of swiping the key to gain entry to the room.

Overall, this hotel was acceptable, but definitely nothing special. We're headed back to Dubuque at Christmas and will try a different place for that trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear ktyg,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments about the AC units, walls and the pool area have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here one night, just passing through on a roadtrip with an uncle that likes Holiday Inn brand hotels. We happened to pass through on I believe Labor Day a couple years ago. Any rate, the restaurant was closed, but the bar was open with a limited menu. That was fine; I was in the mood for a light meal anyhow. The bar staff was nice, and the food was brought out relatively quickly. No complaints about the food or drinks. The staff was great in general from the moment we stepped in. The hotel was pretty was well. Location-wise it is pretty good as well. Hoping to get back at some point. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Property: Holiday Inn Dubuque
Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing