We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for the price, good restaurant, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the price, good restaurant, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for one night while on a trip. The hotel was in a great downtown location, with a parking ramp attached to it for easy access. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel and it was delicious food! The restaurant service was great both times. We didn't end up using the pool, which was small but seemed clean. The only complaint I'd have was that the carpet in our room was almost sticky. It seemed like maybe it was shampooed but not thoroughly rinsed or something. I'd stay here again if ever in Dubuque.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmonic52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Harmonic52, thank you for sharing your comments about the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed the great restaurant food and service and our convenient downtown location. We thank you for the 4 star review and look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    124
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
75
81
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Clean. Good location. Quiet rooms. It isn't fancy, but it's well kept. We were in town for a wedding and wanted to stay somewhere that wouldn't break the bank. This fit the bill just fine. I'd gladly stay there again.

Only issue I noted was that the shower heads are really low. Not a big deal, just something that we both noticed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you, BJStella, for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We glad you enjoyed our clean, comfortable hotel with its convenient location. Thank you for choosing to stay here during your visit and we hope you will return.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Friendly front desk and they are very serious about making your stay as good as it can be. Wendy specifically was always very cheerful. The location is right downtown with a number of restaurants and shops near by. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Darwin M, we want to thank you for your kind comments and great review. Our staff goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to our guests. Wendy does an excellent job at the front desk, and I will share your comments with her. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We thought the hotel was average, it was clean, good location, Jason in the restaurant was great, because of him we would return to the hotel. He was so welcoming, funny, great service and made you happy to be there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you, travellover37, for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed our clean, comfortable hotel with its convenient downtown location. We are also glad Jason made such a great impression! He definitely livens up the bar, and I will share your kind comments with him. Thank you for the great review and we a look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs, IL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel just last night, but we had such a good experience I had to rate it right away. Check in was fast, friendly and I was impressed with the lobby. The hotel is newly renovated and has a nice boutique hotel feel to it. We snagged a parking spot on the top level of the parking garage right outside the door which was great. Elevator was pretty slow, but still better than taking stairs to the 5th floor. The room was clean, smelled fresh and was great. King size bed with a sofa bed. Bathroom was also clean and had a boutique style decor to it. Comfortable bed. The restaurant attached has delicious food and our server, Jason, was great! Funny and accommodating. The pool was small, very small, but we hadn't planned on using it anyway. All in all, a great stay at a great hotel! Loved it and would recommend to anyone!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChcgoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you, ChcgoGirl, for the great 5 star review! We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel, with its upscale feel, and our excellent staff. We will share your kind comments with Jason; he really is great! We appreciate your excellent review of your entire hotel experience, and we look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is in a very nice location on Main Street where there are several nice restaurants to choose from.
If I came back here I would not stay here again. The lobby is very nice with a restaurant and bar that I have not tried yet due to the fact that we chose to go to a couple nice restaurants 1/2 block away.
The rooms are clean and they look remodeled: newer carpet, painted walls and flatscreen TV, nice lounge chair. Bathroom shower stalls look new as does the bathroom vanity.
Would I stay here again? NO..
Here's why. The first room they put us in, had one little window (I should say one single window) that looked at a brick wall, so I asked to be moved. The other room we moved into also, same single window but this time very dirty and the windows cannot be opened either. Because of the single window placement, being dirty and not opening up I was very claustrophobic. I asked that the window be opened which would have been easy to do (a little bolt) but was told they weren't allowed to be opened. Some screens and windows being able to be opened would have been nice.
The other thing that we didn't like was that you had to take the elevator to get outside to our car. The exit door closest to us was only to be used for emergency exit only. I like to be able to have the choice of using the exit doors if needed and not have to take the elevator. I hate to be negative but the last thing unfortunately was that the beds were pretty soft and my back ached as I woke up.
Again, the rooms are clean and I love the area but if I come back, I will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an outside, high up room with clean window and non brick facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you, Anne J, for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate guest comments, as it lets us know what we're doing right and what we can improve. We are glad you liked our clean, comfortable hotel, with its convenient downtown location. We have recently undergone a major renovation and it shows in our newer furnishings and amenities. We are sorry you were unhappy with our windows that don't open (and never have) and with having to use an elevator to get to the second level parking ramp.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night. It was a quiet, clean place to stay. The desk staff was helpful. The room was nice. Nothing outstanding here but no problems at all. We would stay here again. The motel is right downtown and within easy walking distance from many resturaunts. It is downtown so there are some unsavory charectors in the area but adecent police presence as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dan P., thank you for sharing your comments about the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient downtown location in relation to the many great restaurants in the area. Thank you for the 4 star review and we look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Property: Holiday Inn Dubuque
Address: 450 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing