We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daughter's wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
North Liberty
Level Contributor
200 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Daughter's wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our daughter celebrated her wedding reception at this location. Although the hotel was going through some remodeling construction, it didn't bother us. The updating looked nice. Staff was welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. The wedding/sales manager was amazing! He catered to all of our needs and made sure our daughter's big day was memorable and special. He truly contributed to our peace of mind, knowing that everything was being taken care of. We also ate at the restaurant the next morning - great breakfast with a variety of menu options. Our hotel room was clean and comfortable (for the little bit that we stayed in it). Our wedding guests appreciated the location because they wanted to experience the riverfront. Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you, Lisa M., for commenting on your stay last September. We are very glad you were pleased with your daughter's wedding reception. Our staff works hard to meet and exceed guest expectations, most especially for such an important occasion! We hope you were able to experience the beauty and many activities that Dubuque has to offer and that you will stay with us again.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    124
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
75
81
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night and had to travel with our 20 pound dog. The rooms were nice although the hotel wasn't sold out and I do realize they only have certain rooms for dogs, however we face the air conditioning unit. Bedding was wonderful! We wanted to go for a walk and get something to eat for dinner so we stopped at the front desk.i asked where we might be able to do that and she responded, no clue. She asked her co-worker who told us of the "Naughty Dog" throat would accommodate us. So we walked the mile to the cafe and their establishment is open for breakfast and lunch only. This was 7pm. So we returned, got in the car and went to A & W and ate in a park. Going back to the hotel, we see two tables behind some bushes for privacy. Well ol and behold, we could have eaten 20 feet from where I asked the girl the question. The tables were right outside the door of their Pub and restaurant . I am a volunteer travel Ambassador for the City of Milwaukee and volunteer at numerous events. Your "go to" person needs to have knowledge of your city. To me, also a 35 year travel Agent, is unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Bobbi K,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The room,beds, and pillows were clean and comfortable. The location was not great for us. We were not visiting any of the riverfront activities and this hotel was extremely out of the way for us since we were in town for a soccer tournament. In order to get to the hotel, we drove through some downtown residential and business areas which did not make me feel completely safe. When I was in the hotel itself I felt perfectly safe though. There is a parking ramp that was not adequate and very difficult to navigate it you have anything other than an average size car. We took the last parking space and it was so tight we could barely get out of our vehicle. The pool was very small and we did not use it since we were with a group of people. There isn't a free breakfast but there is a restaurant, however, we did not use it. There is also a fridge and microwave in the room so that was convenient. We unfortunately hit a time of visiting when the mayflies were invading so it gave the area outside the hotel a dirty feeling. Certainly wasn't the hotel's fault but it didn't make me enjoy staying downtown. We were awaken in the middle of the night by very noisy neighbors but after a call to the front desk it was taken care of. If you have a reason to be in downtown dubuque then this hotel would be a good option for you if you can deal with the parking and no free breakfast. If you don't have a reason to be in downtown dubuque, I would book elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saritaj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you, saritaj14, for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed aspects of our recently renovated hotel, such as the comfortable beds and the on-site restaurant. We regret your stay was not as accommodating as you expected due to our location. We thank you for your comments.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Recent stay for a convention... The rooms have been updated, but the housekeeping and food service staff ignores any questions, doesn't clean well, re wiped glasses instead of cleaning and exchanging them.. pointed this out to the housekeeper who proceeded to talk about you in another language not knowing you can understand them. The breakfast buffet was horrible, no variety and if you where not there in the first hour or so you where hard pressed to have them refill anything on the buffet. Only glimmer of hope was the front desk staff which where attentive and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank firefamily149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you, firefamily 149, for sharing comments on your recent stay. We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations in any way. We will share your comments with both the housekeeping and kitchen management. We apologize for the poor service you received (except for the front desk staff). Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was in the heart of downtown historic district near Mississippi River. Our stay was okay. The pool was very small, we didn't use it. The mattress we slept in is due to be discarded and needed to be replaced with a new one, our whole body sinked in while we slept. Suffered some backaches while we slept. The only plus was the location!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Shirley M, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient downtown location in the heart of Dubuque. We regret that your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to your discomfort with the bed. Thank you for your review.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is in a great safe location in downtown Dubuque. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable Q beds. Walking distance to casino, Missouri River museum, convention center and the River; walk is about half mile. Enjoyed drinks in the Beefstro bar located inside hotel; ice cold beer. We ate breakfast in the restaurant. It was descent for breakfast buffet. You can also order off the menu. Hotel has a parking garage. For the money, this hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebugg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Harmonic52, thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Member and for reviewing your stay. We're glad you liked our downtown location and your entire hotel experience. We work hard to meet and exceed guest expectations and it seems we have done that with you. Thanks for the 4 star review and we hope you stay here again.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I have attended several business convention locally at this restaurant and the convention hall area where they are held is very pleasant and nice lunch was always great when it was served on site and from the people who stayed in the hotel during the conventions there were no complaints they like to be close location to the casinos in downtown area and the convenience of being able to walk downstairs for their business conference

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DaniBB043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you, DaniBB043, for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed our conference setting. Our recently renovated hotel is a very convenient, hospitable site for many conferences and receptions. Thank you for the 4 star review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Property: Holiday Inn Dubuque
Address: 450 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing