We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were in Dubuque to board the Celebration Belle at 6:30 am on Wednesday so wanted a place close to stay the night before. We chose the Holiday Inn based on Trip Advisor recommendations. It was a great selection and great location. It's easy to get to from either Hwy. 151 or Hwy. 20.

The hotel is clean and our room (although the view was of the roof) was very comfortable and quite nice. We walked downtown and ate at Lot One, on the other end of town. It's NOT a long walk. The free parking was great and we had no problem at all finding a parking spot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viddsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Viddsk, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad to have been the great starting point of your journey on the Celebration Belle. We have many people coming to Dubuque for those fun river cruises. We're glad you enjoyed our clean comfortable hotel and our location in the heart of downtown Dubuque. We thank you for the 5 star review and hope you come see us again.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    126
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
76
81
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped for one night and were very impressed with this Holiday Inn. The location made for easy access, both coming and going, as it is near the major highway. Our rooms were extremely quiet, staff was friendly and the place was well maintained and clean. The restaurant located in the hotel was very good and our waitress was terrific. This was such a good experience that we plan to return to see more of Dubuque and will certainly book again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you, Julie F, for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel and our convenient downtown location. Our staff goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive and we're glad to have met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for the 5 star review and look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Overall it was a good experience. The hotel was generally clean and smelled good. The room was fine, although it lacks storage space a little bit. The rooms were remodeled and had micro and fridge, which was nice. The fitness center was nice and well kept. The pool and hot tub are tiny, but seemed pretty well kept.

We were primarily in town for Galena attractions and the location was good and easy to get to and from. The hotel has a lot of eatery options within walking and driving distance and the front desk was courteous (although they could know a bit more in terms of specific referrals). Parking could be scarce at times, but it is free.

Overall, a good stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
April J, thank you for sharing of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We're glad you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel with all its amenities and convenient location. We really are in the heart of Dubuque and we enjoy our close proximity to Galena. Thank you for the 4 star rating and we hope you will stay with us again.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in the one bedroom suite which was large and the bed was very comfortable. The shower needs updating and the shower head is very short which made it difficult for my 6 foot son. Check in was fast and the lobby is huge with lots of places to sit and relax. The hotel is in a nice location within walking distance to many restauramts. We didnt use the pool, but it is extremely small. I was surprised they didnt offer free breakfast since Holiday Inns typically do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn221972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Lynn, thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We're pleased to hear your positive feedback about our convenient downtown location in historic Dubuque. We regret that your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the shower. Also, Holiday Inns are full-service hotels and typically do not offer complimentary breakfast, like the limited-service Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

We thank you for the 4 star review and look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Here for business on a 1 night stay. Check in was quick, room was just what I needed. King size bed with nice large pillows. Nice flat-panel TV in room. Lots of TV channels to choose from. Very clean. A small bar/food available. I had 2 beers in the bar. Nice little bar. Only complaint would be the large number of fruit-flies. Granted they are hard to control once you get them.....but the bar area was being swarmed. Had breakfast in another area in the morning and it was fantastic! I expected a lot less, but was VERY happy with it. Don't take kids here with the idea of hanging out and swimming. The pool had to be the smallest pool I've ever seen. Seriously, when I first saw it, I thought it was a very large hot-tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you, Pistol P, for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate the nice comments about the hotel and that you noticed the updates and cleanliness. We regret the fruit-fly issue but are glad you had an excellent breakfast. Thank you for the 4 star review and we look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Liberty
Level Contributor
201 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our daughter celebrated her wedding reception at this location. Although the hotel was going through some remodeling construction, it didn't bother us. The updating looked nice. Staff was welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. The wedding/sales manager was amazing! He catered to all of our needs and made sure our daughter's big day was memorable and special. He truly contributed to our peace of mind, knowing that everything was being taken care of. We also ate at the restaurant the next morning - great breakfast with a variety of menu options. Our hotel room was clean and comfortable (for the little bit that we stayed in it). Our wedding guests appreciated the location because they wanted to experience the riverfront. Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you, Lisa M., for commenting on your stay last September. We are very glad you were pleased with your daughter's wedding reception. Our staff works hard to meet and exceed guest expectations, most especially for such an important occasion! We hope you were able to experience the beauty and many activities that Dubuque has to offer and that you will stay with us again.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night and had to travel with our 20 pound dog. The rooms were nice although the hotel wasn't sold out and I do realize they only have certain rooms for dogs, however we face the air conditioning unit. Bedding was wonderful! We wanted to go for a walk and get something to eat for dinner so we stopped at the front desk.i asked where we might be able to do that and she responded, no clue. She asked her co-worker who told us of the "Naughty Dog" throat would accommodate us. So we walked the mile to the cafe and their establishment is open for breakfast and lunch only. This was 7pm. So we returned, got in the car and went to A & W and ate in a park. Going back to the hotel, we see two tables behind some bushes for privacy. Well ol and behold, we could have eaten 20 feet from where I asked the girl the question. The tables were right outside the door of their Pub and restaurant . I am a volunteer travel Ambassador for the City of Milwaukee and volunteer at numerous events. Your "go to" person needs to have knowledge of your city. To me, also a 35 year travel Agent, is unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Bobbi K,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Property: Holiday Inn Dubuque
Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing