We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Nearby Hotels
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Dubuque(Dubuque)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
97
137
71
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
137
71
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking garageroom was cleanwalking distanceheart of downtownpool and hot tuban older hotelexercise roomroom keyfront desk staffwould stay againpool areaminute drivemississippi riveran upgradeeasy accessfirst floorstaff was friendly
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were in Dubuque to board the Celebration Belle at 6:30 am on Wednesday so wanted a place close to stay the night before. We chose the Holiday Inn based on Trip Advisor recommendations. It was a great selection and great location. It's easy to get to from either Hwy. 151 or Hwy. 20.

The hotel is clean and our room (although the view was of the roof) was very comfortable and quite nice. We walked downtown and ate at Lot One, on the other end of town. It's NOT a long walk. The free parking was great and we had no problem at all finding a parking spot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank viddsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Viddsk, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad to have been the great starting point of your journey on the Celebration Belle. We have many people coming to Dubuque for those fun river cruises. We're glad you enjoyed our clean comfortable hotel and our location in the heart of downtown Dubuque. We thank you for the 5 star review and hope you come see us again.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stopped for one night and were very impressed with this Holiday Inn. The location made for easy access, both coming and going, as it is near the major highway. Our rooms were extremely quiet, staff was friendly and the place was well maintained and clean. The restaurant located in the hotel was very good and our waitress was terrific. This was such a good experience that we plan to return to see more of Dubuque and will certainly book again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you, Julie F, for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel and our convenient downtown location. Our staff goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive and we're glad to have met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for the 5 star review and look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Overall it was a good experience. The hotel was generally clean and smelled good. The room was fine, although it lacks storage space a little bit. The rooms were remodeled and had micro and fridge, which was nice. The fitness center was nice and well kept. The pool and hot tub are tiny, but seemed pretty well kept.

We were primarily in town for Galena attractions and the location was good and easy to get to and from. The hotel has a lot of eatery options within walking and driving distance and the front desk was courteous (although they could know a bit more in terms of specific referrals). Parking could be scarce at times, but it is free.

Overall, a good stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

April J, thank you for sharing of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We're glad you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel with all its amenities and convenient location. We really are in the heart of Dubuque and we enjoy our close proximity to Galena. Thank you for the 4 star rating and we hope you will stay with us again.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in the one bedroom suite which was large and the bed was very comfortable. The shower needs updating and the shower head is very short which made it difficult for my 6 foot son. Check in was fast and the lobby is huge with lots of places to sit and relax. The hotel is in a nice location within walking distance to many restauramts. We didnt use the pool, but it is extremely small. I was surprised they didnt offer free breakfast since Holiday Inns typically do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynn221972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Lynn, thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We're pleased to hear your positive feedback about our convenient downtown location in historic Dubuque. We regret that your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the shower. Also, Holiday Inns are full-service hotels and typically do not offer complimentary breakfast, like the limited-service Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

We thank you for the 4 star review and look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Here for business on a 1 night stay. Check in was quick, room was just what I needed. King size bed with nice large pillows. Nice flat-panel TV in room. Lots of TV channels to choose from. Very clean. A small bar/food available. I had 2 beers in the bar. Nice little bar. Only complaint would be the large number of fruit-flies. Granted they are hard to control once you get them.....but the bar area was being swarmed. Had breakfast in another area in the morning and it was fantastic! I expected a lot less, but was VERY happy with it. Don't take kids here with the idea of hanging out and swimming. The pool had to be the smallest pool I've ever seen. Seriously, when I first saw it, I thought it was a very large hot-tub.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pistol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you, Pistol P, for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate the nice comments about the hotel and that you noticed the updates and cleanliness. We regret the fruit-fly issue but are glad you had an excellent breakfast. Thank you for the 4 star review and we look forward to your next visit.

Hotel Management
Holiday Inn Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews