We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Beautifully restored hotel close to everything! Our King room on the 7th floor was comfortable and close to everything. We enjoyed the pool/hot tub area and also the Potosa Spa for two treatments (amazing). That night we went dined at Caroline's located within the hotel before taking a complimentary shuttle to the Diamond Jo casino a quick 2 min ride away. Again, everything was great from start to finish. Can't say enough good things about our stay. Looking forward to doing this again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiTripleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear WiTripleL,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of the many amenities of the hotel. Appreciate your sharing of your experience in Potosa Spa and the pool areas. The staff work tirelessly hard to ensure that your experience will bring you back! Glad to read that you will!

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Team At Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,172 - 2,178 of 2,431 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary in Dubuque at the Hotel Julien. It is a beautiful hotel with the outside remaining the same as it was years ago and the inside blending the old with the new. Our Queen Exective room was excellent and not like the layout of a typical hotel room. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful and we asked for a tour of the various suites and they were more than happy to oblige our request. The suites were magnificent. We both had a deep body full massage at Potosa Spa and we both agree that it was best massage we every received. Caroline's Restaurant was excellent with the food being very good. The pool and exercise room were very nice. A lot of history in this hotel. The Capone Suite had the orginal door, orginial French Doors and artifacts from Al Capone's era. I highly recommend the Julien Hotel if you're visiting Dubuque.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylietheyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear kylietheyorkie,

Happy Belated Anniversary! Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of the many amenities of the hotel.

The history of the hotel is something that all of us are very proud of. It adds such a unique element to the truly beautiful hotel.

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We liked the classy old hotel feeling, up to a point. Much of the woodwork and all of the furniture has a very dark, almost black stain that is worn at most of the edges. What you see is the very light wood showing through, which to me gives it a cheap '70s motel appearance. Also the carpet looked like it needed a good cleaning. If we had gotten the Groupon deal the couple checking in ahead of us got, I might not complain, but at $150 for one night in Dubuque, IA, I'd expect better quality. Word to the wise, check around thoroughly for a deal if you want to stay here. I thought that I had, but I missed it.

Room Tip: Upper floors probably all have OK rooms. You might ask for one facing the river, casinos, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Deat m t,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay. All guest feedback is reviewed and acted upon appropriately.

Our sincere apology for the room conditions that you mentioned; rest assured this is an isolated incident, and not reflective of the thousands of travelers that stay at Hotel Juiein Dubuque.

We look forward to your next visit in the Dubuque area.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Hotel Julien Duubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Really enjoyed the history of this hotel and the city in general. Rooms are very nice; the only "complaint" I would have would be that there was no heat in the bathroom. Brrrr. Other than that . . . Caroline's Restaurant was very good with excellent services. Pool area very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJS_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear SJS_Iowa,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of the many amenities of the hotel.

The history of the hotel is something that all of us are very proud of. It adds such a unique element to the truly beautiful hotel.

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I, along with two other couples recently celebrated our 15 year wedding anniversary in Dubuque for a long weekend. We stayed at the Hotel Julien (received a great deal from Trip Advisor). The Hotel Julien was recently remodeled and was beautiful. The staff was great and the room was awesome! We stayed in a king junior suite and it was like a nice apartment. We will stay there again when we return to Dubuque.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Trish M,

Happy Belated Anniversary!

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. What a great way to celebrate your special in being with friends! We are thrilled to have been part of your celebration.


We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is an old downtown hotel that has been completely renovated. From the lobby with the overstuffed furniture and wood paneled walls to the rooms themselves, there is much attention to detail. We stayed in a queen executive room, which was not large, but had some great amenities. There were full-length comfy robes in the closet, comforters on the beds, a bottle of wine and glasses (for a charge), a Keurig single cup coffeemaker, a refrigerator stocked with more wine, beer and hard liquor (for a charge). And, probably the most interesting aspect of the room is the corner bath, with double entry doors and a walk-in shower. The hotel itself has an on-site restaurant, lounge/bar, spa and pool.

The hotel is within walking distance (literally blocks) of two great restaurants: Vinny Vanucchi's and Pepper Sprout, and has a free parking lot behind the building. One word of caution if you are a light sleeper. The hotel is directly across the street from a popular bar called the Hub, and on the weekend we were there, that bar was hopping. Even on a freezing cold January night, crowds spilled from the bar onto the sidewalk and street and were very loud.

If you are looking stay downtown, this is a great choice for location. It is also worth checking out some their special rates. I got a tremendous deal using my AAA card.

Room Tip: Two tips: 1) If you are a light sleeper and don't want the noise from the bar across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear toelle,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com in regards to your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We appreciate your pointing out the many great amenities of the classical guest room at the hotel. There are also a variety of larger suites and whirlpool rooms for you to enjoy the next time through Dubuque.

Our apology for the late evening noise that occurred as the neighboring entertainment venues were closing down for the evening.

We look forward to your next stay.

The Staff and Management of Hotel Julein Dubuque.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I loved staying here! The decor is excellent in the bedroom and bath. I took pictures of the wallpaper and other parts of the bedroom to see if I could duplicate the look in my home. I only had a little interaction with the staff, but they seemed pleasant and businesslike. I can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieO608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear AnnieO608,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the room decor of the Hotel Julien Dubuque guestrooms. Many long hours of discussions were held and many samples were reviewed before the final choices were made. Great to read of your liking the choices!

We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

The Staff At Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
12.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
881 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £75 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing