We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Hotel Julien in Dubuque a week ago; it was a chilly -6 outside but the friendliness inside the hotel more than made up for the outside temps. We had a beautiful suite, and the staff was couldn't have been more helpful. It was a five star stay in everyway possible..
Rita Wohlert
Iowa Falls, IA

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloeisabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Chloeisabella,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent experience at Hotel Julien.

It is especially kind of you to recognize the friendliness of the staff. They work hard constantly to ensure that each guest of the hotel has truly "an experience versus just a stay".

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,106 - 2,112 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night while traveling through Dubuque. We decided to stop for the night in Dubuque after a long day of driving. There is a Casino close to this hotel, and we figured we would play a few slots and grab some dinner before the rest of he drive home the next day.

We decided on the Julien because it is close to the casino, and it looked like there were restaurants and other things to do close by.

This is a very old hotel, built in the 1800s, I believe. The architecture is really neat. The hotel is very clean, and all of the staff that we had contact with we're very polite and helpful. They've done a very nice job of updating the hotel, while at the same time maintaining the late 1800s feel of the place. The rooms are a bit noisy- you could hear a little noise from the hallway and the adjacent rooms. This was really minimal though, and given the age of the building, probably to be expected. Anyway, it wasn't a big deal to us at all, as the ambiance and character of the place certainly made up for a little noise.

Our stay was short,so we didn't get a chance to try the hotel restaurant,which I believe is called Caroline's. we did look at the menu, and it does receive very good reviews on several websites. Hopefully we can check it out next time we are in Dubuque.

Overall, I would really recommend the Julien if you are in Dubuque, especially if you like older hotels with interesting history and architecture.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Jeff0155,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of history of the hotel and the location to the casino, an easy walk over the bridge.

The history of the hotel is something that all of us are very proud of. It adds such a unique element to the truly beautiful hotel.

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Beautifully restored hotel close to everything! Our King room on the 7th floor was comfortable and close to everything. We enjoyed the pool/hot tub area and also the Potosa Spa for two treatments (amazing). That night we went dined at Caroline's located within the hotel before taking a complimentary shuttle to the Diamond Jo casino a quick 2 min ride away. Again, everything was great from start to finish. Can't say enough good things about our stay. Looking forward to doing this again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiTripleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear WiTripleL,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of the many amenities of the hotel. Appreciate your sharing of your experience in Potosa Spa and the pool areas. The staff work tirelessly hard to ensure that your experience will bring you back! Glad to read that you will!

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Team At Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary in Dubuque at the Hotel Julien. It is a beautiful hotel with the outside remaining the same as it was years ago and the inside blending the old with the new. Our Queen Exective room was excellent and not like the layout of a typical hotel room. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful and we asked for a tour of the various suites and they were more than happy to oblige our request. The suites were magnificent. We both had a deep body full massage at Potosa Spa and we both agree that it was best massage we every received. Caroline's Restaurant was excellent with the food being very good. The pool and exercise room were very nice. A lot of history in this hotel. The Capone Suite had the orginal door, orginial French Doors and artifacts from Al Capone's era. I highly recommend the Julien Hotel if you're visiting Dubuque.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylietheyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear kylietheyorkie,

Happy Belated Anniversary! Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of the many amenities of the hotel.

The history of the hotel is something that all of us are very proud of. It adds such a unique element to the truly beautiful hotel.

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We liked the classy old hotel feeling, up to a point. Much of the woodwork and all of the furniture has a very dark, almost black stain that is worn at most of the edges. What you see is the very light wood showing through, which to me gives it a cheap '70s motel appearance. Also the carpet looked like it needed a good cleaning. If we had gotten the Groupon deal the couple checking in ahead of us got, I might not complain, but at $150 for one night in Dubuque, IA, I'd expect better quality. Word to the wise, check around thoroughly for a deal if you want to stay here. I thought that I had, but I missed it.

Room Tip: Upper floors probably all have OK rooms. You might ask for one facing the river, casinos, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Deat m t,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay. All guest feedback is reviewed and acted upon appropriately.

Our sincere apology for the room conditions that you mentioned; rest assured this is an isolated incident, and not reflective of the thousands of travelers that stay at Hotel Juiein Dubuque.

We look forward to your next visit in the Dubuque area.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Hotel Julien Duubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Really enjoyed the history of this hotel and the city in general. Rooms are very nice; the only "complaint" I would have would be that there was no heat in the bathroom. Brrrr. Other than that . . . Caroline's Restaurant was very good with excellent services. Pool area very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJS_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear SJS_Iowa,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of the many amenities of the hotel.

The history of the hotel is something that all of us are very proud of. It adds such a unique element to the truly beautiful hotel.

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I, along with two other couples recently celebrated our 15 year wedding anniversary in Dubuque for a long weekend. We stayed at the Hotel Julien (received a great deal from Trip Advisor). The Hotel Julien was recently remodeled and was beautiful. The staff was great and the room was awesome! We stayed in a king junior suite and it was like a nice apartment. We will stay there again when we return to Dubuque.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Trish M,

Happy Belated Anniversary!

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien. What a great way to celebrate your special in being with friends! We are thrilled to have been part of your celebration.


We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The Staff of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
329 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £79 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing