We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botique Hotel near river with panache”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Hotel Julien is a beautiful botique hotel with lots of character and a bit of panache. It is in a great location within walking distance of the Mississippi River Aquarium, the river walk, and one of the casinos. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the extra amenities are provided. Lobby is beautiful, but some of the halls are showing some age even though the hotel was rennovated not long ago.

Beds are comfy and rooms have great walk-in showers and bath areas. A little loud at times, but they were hosting a large wedding party the weekend we stayed.

Only real critique was with the staff - they try very hard but seem to be a bit inexperienced. We found dirty robe and soiled linens in our closet when checking in and had an issue with a tip in the spa being charged to my credit card even though I left the tip in cash that I never could get resolved. Finally just gave up.

Room Tip: Rooms seemed to be similar. Of course rooms on East side of building have Mississippi river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear BadgerTripper,,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,124 - 2,130 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Friends had their wedding at this hotel and it was absolutely perfect. The Banquet Staff was amazing, The rooms are very nice as well as the property overall. We were able to check in early which we really appreciated. The beds were extremely comfortable. The location of the hotel is very convenient to the downtown area. There are very delicious restaurants scattered throughout the area. The wedding party stayed in a suite which was very nice as well! Definitely give this hotel an A+, a little pricier but definitely worth it if you want to treat yourself to a great place to stay with a lot of charm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear LaraF,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque and for the kind words about your friend's wedding.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A charming historic hotel located downtown and close to a few shops and restaurants. Free and convenient parking on the back. Our room was clean and serviced well. Upon check in, we would have benefitted from a quick overview of the hotel and map of the immediate area, as well as recommendations for dining. Check in was a little disappointing but all other inquiries and requests were handled great.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank ihearttravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear ihearttravel09,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We last stayed here years ago, before the remodel, and we wanted to try it again. The location of Hotel Julien is really good. It's easy to get to, it's right downtown and close enough to all of the great things to do in Dubuque.

The Pros:

Location
Customer Service
Spa, pool & fitness rooms
Keurig Coffee In rooms
Parking
Very good onsite restuarant
Lobby area
Room Decor

The Cons:

In Room bottle water is $2
The walls are very thin - if you have neighbors (we did), you will hear every word said.
No Vending Machines on site
No bellmen or valet service

We don't mind paying Chicago Hotel prices to stay in a nice place, but Hotel Julien needs to tweek a few things to justify the expensive rates. Little things like picking up litter outside by the entrance and parking lot, vacuuming the floors on a daily basis, offering bottle water on hot days upon check-in, offering bell service, etc.....

We will try Hotel Julien next time in Dubuque to see if there is any improvements. If not, we may not be able to justify the cost of the rooms and we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chitown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Chitown73,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We will owrk on the suggestions that you have offered.

We attempt to reduce the amount of plastic bottles used by offering flavored ice water in the lobby, off from the front desk. My apology that a staff member did not offer that to you during your time in the lobby.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After driving for 14 hours we arrived in Dubuque, tired and hungry. We had never been to Dubuque before and didn't have any reservations. We found a rare gem in the Hotel Julien. This is an historic hotel with an interesting history including ownership by Al Capone back in the 1930's.Today it is a fantastic hotel due to a major renovation a few years ago. Our room was excellent and comfortable. We wished we could have stayed there another night and could have enjoyed more of beautiful Dubuque and its history on the Mississippi River. We had dinner in their restaurant,Caroline, which was very tasty, well served and reasonable priced for a hotel restaurant.All of their staff was helpful and friendly. We will go back again when we have more time.

Room Tip: room 528 was quiet and had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefJohnFMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear ChefJohnMc,,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Now, after your long drive you have found us, we hope to see you again soon!

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Dubuque has much more to offer! Make it a three day stay!

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were a walk in and the staff was very helpful giving options of places to go while the cleaned our room. The hotel is very nice has a big gym and nice restaurant. I would stay here again if I am ever in Dubuque again. Pura Vida

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Saults,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. It is a pleasure to read of your recognition of the hotel staff. They work tirelessly hard to be the best in hospitality in the USA.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely hotel enticed by a Travelzoo deal. We had an executive room with a $20.00 voucher for their restaurant, Caroline's. for breakfast we ate at their restaurant to use our voucher. When we received our check, we marked down our room number so it could be applied to our account. This is not exactly an unusual procedure between a hotel and its restaurant.

At checkout time, the front desk knew nothing of our having eaten at Caroline's. since we spent over the $20 we were expecting a charge. When I called this to their attention, it became clear they had No Communication with the restaurant. We didn't want to wait any longer as the checkout process was taking so long, so we asked them to just send us an email with the corrected bill. Needless to say, we were Overcharged the $20, which required several emails to correct.

Lovely hotel but amateurs seem to be running the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natasha2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear natasha2929,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Our apology for the confusion on the billing; rest assured this is an isolated incident, and not reflective of the hundreds of financial transactions that take place daily throughout the hotel.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
335 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
12.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
886 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £74 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing