We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury boutique hotel in Dubuque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury boutique hotel in Dubuque”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, and room that exceeds expectations with very comfortable and high end linens. We had a river view room with a whirlpool tub at the end of the hall and didn't notice any excessive noise. Have stayed here twice in the past 3 years and would recommend and will likely return. Thanks for the in room Keurig!

We also ate a pleasant dinner at Caroline's the restaurant in the hotel. It was average food, but the service was attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
dear Beth R,

It is a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of Hotel Julien Dubuque. The whirlpool rooms are one of the most highly reserved by our overnight guests due to the large windows and large whirlpools. One has the advantage of seeing much of Dubuque and the Mississippi River.

Thank you for the kid words about the service in Caroline's Restaurant.

Looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,440
    440
    167
    81
    52
See reviews for
463
1,038
65
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Julien to get away for his birthday. The location of the hotel was perfect and when we walked in the door, we were overwhelmed. The decor was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The room was smaller that I had expected but was decorated beautifully and stocked with everything we could possibly need or want. Very luxurious bedding and very comfortable. Our view of the river area was gorgeous! We had breakfast at Caroline's the next morning and it was delicious. Definitely Dubuque's finest!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyda H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Gyda H H,

Happy Belated Birthday! Thank you for choosing Hotel Julien for your husband's special day!

Your kind words shared about the hotel, the staff, breakfast, and your stay are truly appreciated! Being called Dubuque's Finest makes all of us very proud!

Hope to see you on your birthday!

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shullsburg, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hotel Julien in Dubuque, IA was the most perfect venue for our June 2013 wedding reception. Not too far from our town in Wisconsin it was certainly our first choice. The ballroom and atrium are beautiful even without any decorations and the top reason I would recommend Hotel Julien is because of the wonderful staff I worked with, namely the Wedding Coordinator Angie McCullough. We had over 300 guests in attendance and to sum up their feedback the food was exquisite (try the plated duet dish), the hotel is lovely, the staff were incredible, and the space overall is very grand and inviting. If I could plan all over again I would 100% choose Hotel Julien!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear AbbieB,

Again, congratulations on your special day! All the staff were thrilled to be part of your wedding! Wonderful to read of your guests truly enjoying the day!

We thank you for sharing such kind words about Angie, the hotel, the staff, and the experience!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent the night here at the beginning of a trip through Galena and on to Chicago for a family reunion. Booked a Deluxe King with a river view.

The room was very nice and well-appointed (as were the lobby and other common areas). All the amenities you'd expect in the bath, and a "rainforest" overhead shower that was very pleasant. The bed and bedding were also top-notch, although my wife swears it was a queen, not a king. Didn't measure it, so who knows? The room was quiet, which was much appreciated after a long day traveling. A nice little sofa and a comfy armchair were handy for sitting a bit. There was a nice new LCD TV (that we didn't watch). Everything in the room was clean and appeared to be very well maintained. Finally, there was a single-serving coffee maker and a well-stocked mini-bar. There was even a bottle of wine, an opener, and glasses handy had we wanted it. Minor gripe - no price list for any of the mini-bar items.

One other thing lacking (although not to impugn the honesty of hotel employees) was an in-room safe. We travel with lots of computing equipment and one of us takes prescription drugs that are very popular on the street. Being able to secure them when we went out would have added an extra level of comfort. Another minor point - the river view, at least from our room, wasn't much of a view at all. It was off in the distance on the other side of a highway, the river museum grounds, and what appeared to be an industrial area. This wasn't misrepresented by the hotel; just something to be aware of.

Another thing to be aware of is the hotel is in what I assume is the business district. We walked out the front door at 5PM on a Thursday evening and the streets were flat out dead. It's a nice-looking part of town, so we were surprised. We walked several blocks in each direction and while we passed a few open dinner spots we also passed lots of closed stores and what I guess were lunch-only eateries. We ended up eating dinner at Caroline's at the hotel (great peppadew appetizers, so-so main courses, very good breakfast the next morning).

Altogether, this was a very nice stay. Plus, it was convenient to getting to Galena and the rest of our journey. Should we ever happen to be in Dubuque again, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear DCBoomer,

We are glad you found us! After a long day of traveling, we are thrilled to read of your restful night and relaxing dinner at Caroline's.

Your comments about the amenities of the guestroom are truly appreciated.

Please visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Wonderful place, rich in history as well as design. We booked the King suite for the night, as there were two adults and one child. It was clean and elegant. Close to the River Museum which was A+, adults and kids will love this one. I definitely would book again and again if going to Dubuque.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissouriCandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
DearMissouri Candi,

It is a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of Hotel Julien Dubuque. The River Museum is a great attraction right in the hotel's neighborhood. Next time be sure to enjoy the Fenelon Elevator ride! Your children will love it! You will love the view!

Thank you for your kind words!

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Hotel Julien is a beautiful botique hotel with lots of character and a bit of panache. It is in a great location within walking distance of the Mississippi River Aquarium, the river walk, and one of the casinos. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the extra amenities are provided. Lobby is beautiful, but some of the halls are showing some age even though the hotel was rennovated not long ago.

Beds are comfy and rooms have great walk-in showers and bath areas. A little loud at times, but they were hosting a large wedding party the weekend we stayed.

Only real critique was with the staff - they try very hard but seem to be a bit inexperienced. We found dirty robe and soiled linens in our closet when checking in and had an issue with a tip in the spa being charged to my credit card even though I left the tip in cash that I never could get resolved. Finally just gave up.

Room Tip: Rooms seemed to be similar. Of course rooms on East side of building have Mississippi river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear BadgerTripper,,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Friends had their wedding at this hotel and it was absolutely perfect. The Banquet Staff was amazing, The rooms are very nice as well as the property overall. We were able to check in early which we really appreciated. The beds were extremely comfortable. The location of the hotel is very convenient to the downtown area. There are very delicious restaurants scattered throughout the area. The wedding party stayed in a suite which was very nice as well! Definitely give this hotel an A+, a little pricier but definitely worth it if you want to treat yourself to a great place to stay with a lot of charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear LaraF,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque and for the kind words about your friend's wedding.

We appreciate your kind words that you have shared.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Team of Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
637 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
14.0 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing