We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February Get-a-way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Grinnell, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“February Get-a-way”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Second trip to the Hotel Julien and stayed again in the Al Capone Suite. Great place for a romantic getaway. Highly recommend it. It is nostalgic, and since the remodel the wood working alone is worth seeing in person. Excellent suite for the two of us to "get lost" in. Oh yeah.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but if you just want that large suite so the two of you can get lost, the Al Cap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear George M,

Glad to read of your return to "get lost" in the Capone Suite! It is always music to our ears to see of a returning guest's enjoyment of the hotel.

Thank you for such kind words.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    447
    169
    81
    53
See reviews for
479
1,061
66
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, IA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Julien, looking for a nice quiet weekend. Dubuque, by the way, is a real up and coming city, with the Mississippi Museum a can't miss feature.

I should start off by saying that we really like restored old hotels; you can't beat the character when it is done right. For example, our favourite hotel in Iowa is the Park Inn in Mason City, a Frank Lloyd Wright creation that has been wonderfully restored.

But I digress. The Julien is named after the founder of the city, Julien Dubuque. And it is a very nice looking building in the city core. The front lobby is very nicely done and spacious. Our biggest concern is the price. The room rate, for a double, was $170 per night! A bit pricey for a city of about 75,000 people - where there are lots of chains charging $80 to $125. The room was small, which is not unusual for refurbished old hotels, but the bathroom had only a shower and not a bath. They advertize a bar, but it is more of a night club and much to noisy to enjoy a quiet glass of wine at the end of the day. The front desk clings desperately to "policy" and accommodating special circumstances was far more dramatic than it needed to be. Front desk staff otherwise were fine.

With so many other options in Dubuque, I doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear chillin51,

Glad to read of your enjoyment of the restored historic hotels; it is very few that are built these days like these old grand dames as Hotel Julien Dubuque.

There are some guest rooms that are designed with baths. On your next visit, please inquire for that amenity. We will do out best to accomodate.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCrosse WI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

From the moment we walked in the service was outstanding. It is rare when you find a place that treats you as well as this one! I would go back over and over! The food was out of this world from room service! The historic value of this place is beautiful! A must see!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Supermom78,

Thank you for the very kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad to read of your recognzing the staff for their service. They will be quite pleased to read of your enjoyment.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I love this hotel, beautiful rooms, seriously decadent spa, the best seafood Mac and cheese ever at Caroline's (in the hotel)
Theatre one block down bad and wonderful chocolate/ coffee/ wine place across the street (STAMS)

A great getaway when it's 20 below 0. Never really have to leave!

The nightclub attached is lost. Too Loud music, no service, just strange. We went in sat down, no one acknowledged us, no service, so we left. There was a guy at the door who was not taking cover,,,seems he could wait tables?

Just a little too pricey to go often tho.... Too bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Stephanie E,

It is a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of Caroline's Restaurant, Potosa Spa, and Hotel Julien Dubuque. We truly appreciate your kind words.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross Plains, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Walking distance to casino, riverboat tours and restaurants. Staff was courteous and helpful throughout the stay. Enjoyed the recommendation for entertainment in close proximity.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FanMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear FanMan10,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Great to read of your enjoyment of the many attractions and entertainment venues within walking distance of the hotel.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Upon our return of a two-week stay in Vegas, the cold and snow of Iowa prompted my lady to arrange for a two-night stay at the Julien in Dubuque. Since my 65th birthday happened to fall on a Friday this year, we chose to make a weekend of the event. The arrangements were made through TravelZoo, and included $20 per night discount at the resident restaurant, Caroline's. With $50 per room per night discounts as well, the offer was just irresistible.
Our room, a deluxe king, well-appointed, was on the 7th floor, facing the Ice Harbor, Casino and Mighty Mississippi. The bathroom, although slightly cramped for space, included a glassed shower, single sink and the usual array of hair and skin products found in any quality hotel. A gap in the glass walls of the shower, about a half-inch, allowed a little spillage while showering, but it was easily absorbed by a hand towel. The bed was as comfortable as any I've enjoyed, and I'm usually spoiled by my King memory foam at home.
The first night's dinner, at Vinnie Vanucci's next door, was an Italian extravaganza, and the second night's feast, the seafood platter at Timmerman's in East Dubuque, Illinois, courtesy of a generous slot machine at Diamond Jo Casino, helped to round out a sumptuous culinary weekend. The two discounts for Caroline's were used for breakfast each morning featuring really tasty eggs benedict.
Given that a few of these significant birthdays have been less than stellar in the past, the thoughtful planning that hatched this special weekend was both appreciated and celebrated. The Julien did it's part, with attentive service, enjoyable amenities (including the pool and spa) and venues for entertainment all within steps of the front door..

Room Tip: A KIng bed on an upper floor will garner the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartlandchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Happy Belated Birthday Heartlandchaz,

Sounds like your lady treated you to a great birthday getaway in Dubuque. Thank you for sharing of your experience at Hotel Julien Dubuque, and of the many fun and exciting neighborhood places to dine and entertain.

Many guests take advantage of the Travelzoo offers as they are released. Glad to see that you enjoyed one of the most popular sellers in Caroline's, the Eggs Benedict.

Hope to see you before your 66th!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Hotel Julien has been a fixture of downtown Dubque for decades, but recently it underwent a complete renovation and the resulting new hotel is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are well appointed and the bedding is terrific. The hotel bar and dining room is great as well. There's even a first rate gym with treadmills, etc. We stay here every time we come back to Dubuque to visit family. The only thing that needs improvement is the hot water pressure in the showers! The water pressure can become weak and the "hot" water can become tepid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Bob G,

Thank you for sharing a bit of the history of the hotel, and of your enjoyment of the newer renovation. Countless hours of meetings and discussion went into the final decisions on how to return the hotel to its former legacy.

Glad to read of your enjoyment of the fitness room and Caroline's Restaurant.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing