We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romantic weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Coralville
1 review
“romantic weekend away”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Beautiful suite! Perfect for our romantic getaway. Used the living social deal for 2 nights. Got a couples massage at Potosa Spa......AMAZING! Had 40 dollars of vouchers to use at Carolines. Food was great for a hotel restauraunt, our server was ok....not the warmest personality. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,383
    422
    162
    78
    50
See reviews for
439
996
64
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The location was fantastic, but parking can be somewhat limited. We felt safe there. We were able to view the historic area from our fifth floor window. It was quiet and clean. The spa lockerroom was a bit crowded while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Zola H,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We appreciate your sharing of the view of the guest room. Our apology for the parking concern; two losts are located on the front and back of the hotel, along with a covered structure within one block of the hotel that is complimentary to hotel guests.

Your comment about the spa locker room was disappointing to read, as we want any guest of the spa to be refreshed and relaxed when enjoying Potosa Spa. We are reviewing that concern with our spa leadership, as the total experience is one that we want to be perfect for the patron.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Overall great experience! Great location in the heart of Dubuque. Rooms and facilities are nice, updated, and clean. Are room was very room and had a good view of downtown Dubuque. We had a great dining experience at Caroline's, food was awesome. Rooms are pretty pricey without a coupon thought.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Darin S,

Thank you for getting away to Hotel Julien Dubuque and sharing such positive comments on your stay and about dining at Caroline's.

We hope to see you soon on your next well deserved get away for mom and dad!

Sincerely,

Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Every thing was very nice but the pillows were hard. It was a short stay as we had our wedding reception at the Grand River center & didn't check in until after midnight. We are from DBQ but would recommend Hotel Julien to out of town visitors.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Jason H,

Congratulations to the newlyweds!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your wedding stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We greatly appreciate your many positive review.

Hope to see you before and after your anniversary!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Postville
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Beautiful hotel with cool history. The parking was a little sparse. Might be worth it to arrive early if possible. We didn't try the restaurant or lounge. Both looked nice. The help was helpful and courteous.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Kathy W,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Hotel Julien Dubuque and our city. We greatly appreciate your many positive reviews of the guest room and the staff.

Sorry to read of your parking concern; besides the two lots on the front and back of the hotel, there is a covered parking structure less than a block from the hotel for your next visit.

Hope to see you again soon!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Julien in February. We had a great room on the corner of the building that had a lot of windows and natural light. The room was very clean and updated. We ordered room service for dinner and were very pleased with the food. The drinks at the bar downstairs were great too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katwater86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear katwater86,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent get away to Hotel Julien Dubuque and our city. We greatly appreciate your many positive reviews of the guest room and room service food.

Hope to see you again soon! Sneak away!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a fantastic experience at this hotel. The accommodations were top-flight. The Suite we had was roomy, well-appointed and had a beautiful view of the Mississippi River.The hotel's architecture was amazing. They don't make hotels like this anymore. The staff was cordial and very professional. Particular kudos must go to Kory, the restaurant supervisor, and Sherry, the Server. Parking was easy and very convenient. Dinner at the Caroline Restaurant was sumptuous and exceeded our expectations. We'll definitely be making a return trip to the Hotel Julien Dubuque in the not-to-distant future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Don O,

Thank you for taking the time to say "fantastic hotel" about your recent get away to Hotel Julien Dubuque and our city. We greatly appreciate your many positive reviews of the guest room and Caroline's. Kory and Serry will be thrilled to read of your recognizing their service.

Hope to see you again soon!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
11.6 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing