We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An already very good hotel just keeps getting better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my fourth or fifth time staying at this incredible hotel. This time, I brought my parents with me to show it off to them! We had two rooms, an Interior King Suite and a Double Queen room. Both rooms were large, well maintained and impeccably clean.

There was a large wedding going on when we were there. I never heard any noise from the hallway and the staff was very gracious and accommodating.

The only issue might be the train noise on and off during the night. It is not too bad, but might wake up light sleepers.

This hotel should be experienced by anyone who

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckyBadger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear BuckyBadger123,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! Love to read the feedback of our returning guests We truly appreciate the kind words shared. Glad to read of your enjoyment of the Deluxe King Interior Room, one of the most reserved room types.

We look forward to your next time in Dubuque.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,923 - 1,929 of 2,431 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Outstanding hotel in outstanding location. Room was spacious an nice. Staff is very helpful and nice. Caroline's restaurant was a disappointment. The service was slow and the food was average at best. Nice bar with entertainment late into the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque for the weekend! We truly appreciate the kind words shared. Our apology that Caroline's didn't exceed your expectations; your concerns will be reviewed with our chef and restaurant manager.

We look forward to your next time in Dubuque.

Thank you.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Horrible. Nice place but staff is undertrained to off service matching room rates. Got better service at the holiday inn. We checked out 3 days early to go to a two star hotel with much better service. Some staff rude and impatient with entitlement syndrome. Won't be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kendra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Kendra D, Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Our sincere apology for the experience regarding the different rates for the different dates of stay; as some travelers may add a day to a present reservation, the system does not automatically show the rates from the previous stay, especially when a new reservation number is requested.

I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concern, should you have time available. Please contact me at your convenience at 563.556.4200 Ext: 5561

Thank you.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great hotel and dining experience. Very close to casino and walking trails as well as Galena for a nice shopping experience. The staff have both the hotel and the restaurants were very polite and professional. I would definitely visit the hotel Julien in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Michael E,

Thank you for sharing of your time in Dubuque and about your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad to read of your enjoymnet of the neighborhood's dining choices, refreshment establishments, and the entertainment options.

Hope to see you soon.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great place to celebrate a birthday and a wedding anniversary. Makes me want to come back and complete the bucket list I have for Dubuque! The location was great so close to so many wonderful sights!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Judy B,

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary and birthday with us at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We hope that we are not crossed off your Bucket List, as a "been there done that".

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Hotel Julien in Dubuque, but wished we had more time to spend there. Beautiful room, we booked a deluxe King room and loved it. Very clean and up to date, nice glassed in shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. They gave a lot of little perks, buy one get one drink tickets for the lobby bar, free desert at the on-site restaurant Carolina's (which was delicious), cookies at the front desk, free popcorn, small loaf of banana bread with check at Carolina's and 15% off spa. Friendly professional service from the hotel and restaurant staff.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Terry2,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! We truly appreciate the kind words shared. Glad to read of your enjoyment of the Deluxe King Room, one of the most reserved room types.

We look forward to your next time in Dubuque.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here on Friday night with wife and 2 teenagers. All was perfect. Nostalgic, clean perfect location within walking to great shopping and restaurants. Pool was brand new looking and whirlpool with nice stone work. Workout room was very equipped, sharp, new and clean. Staff super friendly. Great deal for Groupon. Otherwise, a little pricey$180 or so total - but unique and I feel worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear James M,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque with your wife and the teenagers! Glad to read of your enjoyment of the pool and work out area.

We truly appreciate the kind words shared about the friendliness of the staff. They work tirelessly hard to provide great hospitality

We look forward to your next time in Dubuque.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
12.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
881 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £75 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing