We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved everything about this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Savanna, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved everything about this hotel!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We recently hosted our daughter's wedding reception at Hotel Julien Dubuque and we could not have been any more satisfied with everything from the start of the rehearsal dinner held the Friday night before the wedding, to the catered private breakfast for overnight guests on Sunday morning, and everything in between. The hotel's wedding coordinator made wedding planning so much easier than I expected (especially since we were not from the Dubuque area) and all of the staff was so accommodating to us and all of our guests throughout the weekend. Many of us also utilized the services in the spa, and we were very happy with everything and everyone there, as well! The food was delicious and the beds were very comfortable. There is nothing that we would change about our wedding weekend at Hotel Julien Dubuque. And we will be back and have great memories to enjoy during our next stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Lori M,

Congratulations on a wonderful wedding weekend! It is a pleasure for all of us to have been part of your family's celebration. Your kind words are truly appreciated.

Thank you,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,479
    448
    169
    81
    53
See reviews for
479
1,063
66
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is absolutely gorgeous! We stayed on a Groupon and the staff was extremely friendly. The room was updated but the hotel had the old time factor to it. The location of the hotel is perfect also, with a 10 minute walk to the museum and/or casino across the highway. The only downfall was that our room was on the side where the street is with multiple bars so we heard the bar chatter all night, but that is understandable. We will definitely be staying again as Dubuque is a beautiful city and has many things to offer all ages. Looking forward to a relaxing stay soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResGirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear ResGirl08,

Pleasure to read of your enjoyment of Hotel Julien Dubuque and the surrounding neighborhood.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Every now and then I'll walk into a hotel and immediately want to go to TripAdvisor to write a great review. This was one of those places! Situated right in the middle of downtown Dubuque within a few minutes walk of shops, restaurants and the river - is Hotel Julien. When you walk into the lobby, you are immediately impressed by this place, on par with some of the nicer hotels I've seen in larger cities. The staff was very welcoming upon arrival. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived (we were early), so he directed us to the outdoor patio for a drink. We ended up enjoying the beautiful patio views for awhile before venturing to our room.

The room was outstanding. We were very happy to find we got a corner king suite (highly recommended) with beautiful views of the river and city. The rooms are large - full kitchen/bar, nice living/sitting area, large separate bedroom and beautiful bathroom. My wife loved the Aveda products! This was the type of room where you immediately feel at home and could very easily decide to just stay in. But, with the weather warm & sunny, we walked to the Star Brewery on the river to enjoy the nice evening.

Another highlight of this hotel is the restaurant - Caroline's. Hotel restaurants are often overpriced and lack quality. This restaurant was definitely an exception. Here again, you'll feel like you are at an upscale, big city restaurant. The service was great, the food terrific. Compliments to the Chef!

We loved Dubuque! It has a lot of history and charm - definitely exceeded our expectations. We will be back to the Hotel Julien. I think it'd be a great spot any time of the year as it is close to everything, but you won't feel guilty if you decide not to leave the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite overlooking the city & river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobadgers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear gobadgers77,

Pleasure to read of your enjoyment of Hotel Julien Dubuque and the surrounding neighborhood. The Premier King Suites are very popular to simply just chill out in.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just came back from my first stay at the Julien and this hotel is fantastic!! Such an old school hotel and the decor is amazing! It's soooo refreshing to stay in a hotel that isn't your standard, big corporate, modern, i.e. stale hotel. This place has character!! The room amenities were outstanding and the bathroom was exquisite!

Also, the front desk staff went out of their way to help me surprise my girlfriend by placing in her room flowers I ordered prior to checking in. She loved them!! We'll definitely be coming back again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear devlin H,

Pleasure to read of your enjoyment of Hotel Julien Dubuque for your first time. We are hoping to see you soon for the second time, third time, and many more times after that.

Thank you,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in the Capone Suite and in a word it was, excellent. To preface this, with the nature of my career I have been lucky enough to have been in numerous suites in numerous cities and the Capone Suite is truly a wonderful suite. The price may seem steep for Dubuque Iowa, however this suite features two separate bedrooms, each with private bath, as well as a third hallway half bathroom and a sofa sleeper couch meaning that you could comfortably sleep 6 in this suite, no problem which only adds to the value of a suite like this. Additionally the suite features a nice sized living room, full dining room that seats 8 and a full sized kitchen.

With regards to the charm and elegance of the suite, it truly is something to experience. Having experienced over-the-top "bling'ed out" suites in Vegas, it was nice to see the tasteful decoration and charm of this suite. The level of detail on the outer and interior doors alone were wonderful. The entire suite was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The Jacuzzi tub in master suite was very large, I am 6'5" and fit comfortably...believe me, that is a rarity for tall guys.

During our stay there was a wedding reception being hosted on the same floor, the Capone Suite is on the Second floor and there are no other guest rooms on that floor, and one of the bars was setup just outside the entrance to our room. We were concerned about noise at first, however the suite is so large that the noise level never posed an issue when we were in the suite.

The Hotel Julien itself is a wonderful hotel and decorated wonderfully. It is one of the few hotels I have been to in which you actually want to hang out in the lobby or on the second floor mezzanine. The location is wonderful as it is in walking distance from almost anything you would want to do in downtown Dubuque. The staff was prompt and courteous.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Josh B,

Pleasure to read of your enjoyment of Hotel Julien Dubuque's Capone Suite! Sounds like your position allows for the enjoyment of the nicer hotel rooms! Glad that the Capone rates up there with the best of them.


We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my fourth or fifth time staying at this incredible hotel. This time, I brought my parents with me to show it off to them! We had two rooms, an Interior King Suite and a Double Queen room. Both rooms were large, well maintained and impeccably clean.

There was a large wedding going on when we were there. I never heard any noise from the hallway and the staff was very gracious and accommodating.

The only issue might be the train noise on and off during the night. It is not too bad, but might wake up light sleepers.

This hotel should be experienced by anyone who

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckyBadger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear BuckyBadger123,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! Love to read the feedback of our returning guests We truly appreciate the kind words shared. Glad to read of your enjoyment of the Deluxe King Interior Room, one of the most reserved room types.

We look forward to your next time in Dubuque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Outstanding hotel in outstanding location. Room was spacious an nice. Staff is very helpful and nice. Caroline's restaurant was a disappointment. The service was slow and the food was average at best. Nice bar with entertainment late into the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque for the weekend! We truly appreciate the kind words shared. Our apology that Caroline's didn't exceed your expectations; your concerns will be reviewed with our chef and restaurant manager.

We look forward to your next time in Dubuque.

Thank you.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing