We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip for a funeral”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It's hard to capture the extreme kindness and hospitality our family experienced at the HJD as we gathered for my father's funeral. Everyone was more than kind and went out of their way to be helpful. I also witnessed the dealing with other customers in a professional and courteous manner. They have not only excellent customer relations but a genuine sense of compassion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicolette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Nicolette C and Family,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent travel to Dubuque and Hotel Julien Dubuque. Your kind words will be shared with all the staff.

Over the course of a career in hospitality, we encounter the many varied reasons why people need to travel. Traveling because of the loss of a loved one or a medical need is always the most stressor one's life can experience. We hope that comfort and solace come to you and yours in the arms of friends and family.

Sincerely throughts and sympathy,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,278)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Julien Dubuque
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I love staying at the Julien when in Dubuque, this trip was a internet deal, where we got a suite for $99.00 per night. Best Hotel Room Ive ever had there!!! There were an added $9.00 in taxes, but still for that price, the room was great: clean, quiet, comfortable, and big! Service is always the best there, very friendly, even the room service delivery girl in the elevator asked us how our stay was. The Julien is close to everything love walking the downtown area. Had breakfast in Carolines, and a cocktail in the lobby bar, service was very good. I'll be staying there again next trip through!

Room Tip: groupon or other similar offers, or Diamond Jo casino card discount makes it more affordable
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel has been remodeled and it was done right. We were on the 6th floor in a room w/king size bed. The beds are wonderful, the bedding is also wonderful. I wish I had the shower from that bathroom at my house. A large glass door, walk in, tiled shower. Nice large towels. I can't think of anything to improve the room and bathroom we had. We stayed on a Thursday night and there was absolutely no noise that we heard at all, and we were just 2 doors down from the elevators. This hotel is close to the river, casinos, museum and aquarium as well as downtown. A good location and there seemed to be plenty of free parking. When we are in the area again this will be our first choice of hotels to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This really is a wonderful historic upscale hotel. We are return guests and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. It made our nephew's wedding weekend even more perfect. Great attention to detail and a very clean, well appointed room. WiFi signal a bit weak in rooms but powerful on first two floors and at least it's complimentary. Nice to stroll along a cute downtown Main Street. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Johnmarkkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Julien is in a great location in the charming rivertown of Dubuque. Staff seem well trained in customer service. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and Carolines is a friendly place, good for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ETMMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excellent visit business trip customer from out-of-town enjoyed the hotel very much
The review survey program leave something to be desired becoming a pain to finish this survey
It will not let me finish find another survey program

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very nice hotel and great location, but blinking lights on a smoke detector above the bed bothered my sleep badly. I sleep lightly and awake often to drift back to sleep again, but the lights made this miserable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Cathy C,

Thank you for taking the time to share of your experience. Our apology for your less than restful night of sleep' life safety systems are designed with light indicators that provide information to the guest and hotel staff of either the system is operating normal with no alarms, or potential conditions that require hotel staff services.

For future travel, many hotels allow guests to view the guest rooms prior to check-in for a guest to note if the room layout and design are to their most enjoyment. Please feel free to ask this of the staff at Hotel Julien Dubuque for your next time visiting our area.

Thank you for staying with us. Look forward to seeing you again.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £67 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing