We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al Capone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Kalona, Iowa
1 review
“Al Capone”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a tour of the Al Capone Suite, I can't wait to experience a stay in that room. I love the charm of the time period and the vast amount of room available. I love the french doors, safe and history that has been preserved.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Lara A,

Thank you for sharing of your tour of the Capone Suite!

We look forward to your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    422
    162
    78
    50
See reviews for
439
997
64
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a girls mini vacation for one night. Lovely hotel. We arrived early and our room was not ready but within 20 mins they called and said we could check in. Beds are very comfy. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Close to riverwalk/casino. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmalibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear gandmalibby,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. A mini-vacation with the girlfriends, every woman deserves a few of those! Glad to read of your enjoyment of the neighborhood!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Excellent accomodations. It is a treat to stay at the Julien. We live in the local area, but consider it a special occasion to stay at the Julien. Breathtaking view of the historic city and the mighty Mississippi. Hotel was renovated beautifully and is an asset to the community.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

We truly appreciate the local support that many in the area have given the hotel. It is a pleaure to read of your pride in the hotel being part of the community. We are thrilled to have an ownership group that constantly gives back to Dubuque and the expanded area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful. The staff was great. We did have an overcharge with room service that took awhile to resolve. We were also disappointed that we were not given a river view, which we requested at the time of the reservation.






  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Noisey room due to old suite doors to adjoining room. Jersey Shore phonies loitering in the lobby near bar, Security staff hovering nearby. No free wifi in room. Far from a $240 single room experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Our apology for the level of disruption caused by the guest next door; please contact us immediately in the future for assistance, as we have staff available to handle any issue that may not be reflective of the quality that we desire all our guests to experience.

The city of Dubuque is swiftly becoming a destination location for weekend travelers. We do offer discounted room rentals on less popular evenings should your travels take you to Dubuque again.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When I booked a room in April, I was guaranteed it by 1 PM. When my 4 friends and I arrived- no room! The staff was unhelpful and unapologetic- they didn't even offer a discount or refund. It caused a huge panic and rush for our evening plans!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Suzanna M,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Our apology for your room not being available to check-in at 100 pm due to the staff needing to service the room after the previous guest checked out. In reviewing your check-in time, it was noted that you were able to check-in at 1:45 PM, shortly after your requested 100 pm.

It was unusual to read that a guaranteed check-in time was agreed, as we only note that early check-ins are "requests". The room type that was reserved is one of the most popular, and of the largest suites, so turning this around for a 100 pm check-in is difficult with a guest staying until the check-out time of 12:00 PM.

We do hope your evening activitiies were enjoyable and memorable for the time spent in Dubuque.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for a week, and loved the ability to walk everywhere to enjoy the historic parts of town. Lots of good restaurants nearby including Pepper Sprout, L. May's and Main Street Chop. Walked to the River Museum and the River Walk too. Staff friendly and very accommodating. Room was quiet. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Ginger L,

Thank you for sharing of your week long stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. It is great to read of your enjoyment of the neighborhood restaurants, lounges, attractions, and shopping.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
11.6 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing