We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“calm & quite weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Newark
1 review
“calm & quite weekend”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and myself celebrated our anniversary and had a very very calm and enjoyable weekend . there are many things to do in the area. Would love to come again in the fall . The restaurant is very nice also. The people in the area are very welcoming also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,383
    422
    162
    78
    50
See reviews for
439
996
64
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I just wish they had bath tubs in all the rooms! Otherwise this hotel is beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly! The rooms are well maintained and very comfortable. And Caroline's has very tasty food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you appreciate historic places, you'll love the Julien. Our stay was very nice. Had a little trouble adjusting the room temp, but the front desk was helpful. The vent blew air right over the bed, didn't really care for that. Overall a beautiful, quiet place. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Disappointed in my stay this time around. I feel it was more tidy and in order 2 years ago than it is now. The hotel is beautiful but really does need attending to. My fiance also saw a man urinating outside in the parking area of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Melissa D,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Our apology for the conduct of the individual that lacked the decency of simply being well mannered; rest assured this was an isolated incident.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel Julien doesn't disappoint. Nice downtown location with an adequate restaurant. Some areas of hotel/rooms showing a bit of wear, but it remains a clean place to place your head and to relax. Love that it has old world charm and details.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristin* T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Almost every time we visit Dubuque we stay at the Hotel Julien. We have found the location close to both great restaurants and local bars, being within walking distance. Staff is friendly. On the negative, the hotel does need some upgrading on the workout room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmer
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Unfortunately we were staying with a group of kids and so was not unfriendly toward kids, but just not set up to accommodate kids in the best ways. ie. the glass doors on the shower and not latching bathroom doors made it uncomfortable with a few kids sharing the room with adults.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dacia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#9 of 17 in Dubuque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
11.6 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Property: Hotel Julien Dubuque
Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing