We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need some housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room was not as clean as before and needed phone and bathroom repair. No excuse, especially for a premier suite. We have enjoyed the hotel previously and expect the next visit will be more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mzogalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear mzogalena,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Our sincerest apology that the room conditions failed to exceed your expectations; rest assured your comments will be discussed with the appropriate teams to ensure this does not repeat itself.


We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,278)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Julien Dubuque
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,608 - 1,614 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very very nice hotel in Dubuque Iowa. The rooms truely could not have been better. The bedding, towels and robes were the BEST! All of the staff were helpful and Iowa friendly! The bar and staff were also very good. We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dubuque.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Mighty Mississippi...beautiful!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susankae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Right in the heart of downtown Dubuque and close to waterpark, museum and gaming, This is one of the loveliest hotels at which we have ever stayed. Would go back again and again. It's a "must stay". Service is impeccable and the rooms beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The rooms were not well maintained… old food in fridge; couldn't control our own temp so had to leave it at the same temp night & day. Gouges in desk. Have had amazing stays preciously. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Toadie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Toadie33,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Our apology for the room condition that existed; we have recently began to replace the desk tops, as your concern has been noted.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in a sixth floor suite recently. The hotel has a great location close to the casino, river museum (wonderful aquariums), river craft museum, and river boat rides. No extra parking charge.

The suite had a full sized refrigerator, stove and wet bar. large bathroom. Very quiet.

We appreciated the helpful staff.

We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Quattroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay. We found friendly staff willing to answer questions about a place we were meeting friends.
Our room had a great view of the river.
We were able to walk on the riverwalk. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am a road warrior and always look forward to the weeks I stay at the Hotel Julien. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious and well appointed.
I have already booked my return visit.
I enjoy the indoor pool and workout facility.




















  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing of your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Team Hotel Julien Dubuque

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#7 of 17 in Dubuque
326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
Fairfield Inn Dubuque
#10 of 17 in Dubuque
129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: £67 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing